A fictional story about an Arizona Retailer

I am so glad Governor Jan Brewer was forced to veto the bill that would have permitted me to discriminate against people who do not share my religious beliefs. As a shopkeeper, I have always tried to serve my customers well. I learned that from my mom and dad when I took over the business when they retired.

You see, I was in a quandary as I try to live every day by the Golden Rule. You know the one where you try to do unto others as you would have them do unto you. I always simplify it for my kids and say “treat others like you want to be treated.” Sometimes you have to break it down for people to understand. And, I try to follow my minister’s preaching on every issue asking “What Would Jesus Do?” I even wear one of those WWJD bracelets and get asked often about it.

I was troubled by the bill passed by our Arizona legislature. I did not like the power they were granting me as it runs counter to what I believe – treat others like you want to be treated. Jesus even said to treat “the least of us” as if they were Me.  Now that Governor Brewer responded to pressure from local, regional, national and global businesses as well as our two US Senators McCain and Flake, I can rest easy and serve all people willing to do business with me.

I now don’t have to discriminate and can serve bigots even though they do not have the same religious beliefs that I have. Even bigots need to be treated like we want to be treated. That is what Jesus would want.

9 thoughts on “A fictional story about an Arizona Retailer

  1. Sadly, this law or ones like it are being introduced or are pending in several other states. What are these people thinking? It may get them in good with the extremists, but how do they see getting enough mainstream votes to get elected? Its beyond me.

    • Barney, another sad truth is the districts are so gerrymandered, that it means “bat shit crazy” folks can remain in office. Even with one of the poorest General Assembly’s I have ever witnessed in NC, many are running unopposed in secure districts. The reasonable people’s only hope is to shine spotlights and hope that the pressure can cause change. The problem is the slightly less obvious poor legislation will go unhindered and the folks who have passed legislation which is being sued for unconstitutionality will discount it as due to an “activist judge.” The quote is from one of our finest over here in NC. Thanks for your writing and shining your spotlight. BTG

      • Calif has a severe gerrymandering problem, but with Dems primarily in charge. The good thing is that like typical Dems, they can’t agree on the time of day, so their damage level is minimal.

      • Barney, I don’t know what to do about the gerrymandering. It absolutely harms democracy and paves the way for narrow minded views to gain audience and acceptance. Right now, it is also harming the GOP as some of those views run counter to what most Republicans and conservative Independents believe. Thanks for your opinions which are always appreciated and well articulated. BTG

      • The anti-gerrymandering forces got 3 judge panels to draw districts. The courts overruled them. Again, we have voter apathy to blame.

    • There is an old saying in Alabama. Thank God for Mississippi, otherwise we would be last in everything. This state needs people to visit and buy things. To discriminate will only hurt them more than the pain they intend to those whose rights they are trampling on. The impoverished and disenfranchised in this state have no voice and it is a shame. Thanks for your note. BTG

Leave a Reply

