Which movies include these quotes?

I am movie buff, but one who likes plot and dialogue. I am not too big on action movies unless they come with a  plot and/ or have more people than computer generated characters. The exception of course being Pixar or cartoon movies, which are entirely computer generated or drawn. I am also a collector of quotes.

With that context, let me know from which movies the following quotes can be found. Note the quotes are from memory, so I may not get them exactly correct, but they echo in my mind and come to me from time to time.

1. “We gotta get a bigger boat.”

2. “This is the stuff dreams are made of.”

3. “Sometimes, there are not enough rocks.”

4. “Mrs. Robinson, I believe you are trying to seduce me.”

5. “I’ll have what she’s having.”

6. “Louie, I believe this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.”

7. “I could have been a contender.”

8. “You know how to whistle Steve. You just put your lips together and blow.”

9. “You could sweep the seas for England.”

10. “Round up the usual suspects.”

11. “I’ll just have to worry about that tomorrow.”

12. “Love is never having to say your sorry.”

13. 1st person: “Love is never having to say your sorry.” 2nd person: “That is the stupidest thing I have ever heard.”

14. “Isn’t our time, my time as well Mr. Hand?”

15. “I am mad as hell and I’m not going to take it any more.”

16. “Rollo Tomassi.”

17. “Your honor is a gift you give yourself.”

18. “Snap out of it!”

19. “I am so mad, I just want to hit some one.”

20. “Twas, beauty that killed the beast.”

Let me know what you think. Try to do them from memory, first, and let me know where I have strayed on the quotes. Please feel free to share your favorites and I will guess where they originated. Sorry, there are no prizes for winning other than maybe learning of a new movie to watch or walking down memory lane.

22 thoughts on “Which movies include these quotes?

    • One of my favorite movies – Mutiny on the Bounty, with Charles Laughton and Clark Gable. The quote is near the end when one of the guilty says if captains treated the crew with respect, you could sweep the seas for England. Thanks for stopping by. BTG

  1. Interesting list! I recognize many of the quotes, but can only identify a few.
    5 – When Harry Met Sally
    6 – Casablanca
    14 – Fast Times at Ridgemont High
    15 – Network
    17 – Rob Roy?
    19 – Steel Magnolias?

  2. Note to Readers: For extra credit (again no prize), here is one from a favorite, lesser known movie – “I wouldn’t have missed it for the world, Bobby. Not a minute of it.”

    • Thanks Z. That one will echo forever. I remember it being used in “The Rookie,” when Dennis Quaid walked into a beautiful locker room with another baseball player to join the major league team on the road. I will update with the answers in a day or so.

  3. Note to Readers: Here are the movies to match the quotes:
    1) Jaws 2) The Maltese Falcon 3) Forrest Gump 4) The Graduate 5) When Harry Met Sally 6) Casablanca 7) On the Waterfront 8) To Have and Have Not 9) Mutiny on the Bounty 10) Casablanca 11) Gone with the Wind 12) Love Story 13) What’s up Doc? (note Ryan O’Neal delivered the punch line in this movie after being in Love Story) 14) Fast Times at Ridgemont High 15) Network 16) LA Confidential (the fictitious name of a killer who got away that helped solved a real crime) 17) Rob Roy 18) Moonstruck 19) Steel Magnolias 20) King Kong 21) Hearts in Atlantis

  4. Note to Readers: Hugh got me thinking about a couple of other movie quotes. Check out our dialogue on a couple of quotes from two Paul Newman movies. Here are a few more:
    – I am not a smart man, but I know what love is.
    – Badges; we don’t need no stinking badges. (Appears in two movies)
    – I ain’t got no body (note separation of words).

    Answers: Forrest Gump, Treasures of the Sierra Madre and Blazing Saddles, and Young Frankenstein (one of the funniest movies).

    • Absolutely! Young Frankenstein has one of the funniest scenes I have ever watched — when Gene Hackman (the bling peasant) spills hot soup in the “monster’s” lap!! Thanks for the chuckle. I knew the second one, but not the first.

      • The Gene Hackman cameo scene is hysterical. I heard Cloris Leachman say that Marty Feldman would change his hump from shoulder to shoulder between scenes as a side joke. “Hump, what hump?”

  5. Note to Readers: I found a note where I was keeping some movie quotes to use. Not all of them made it to the list of questions above. Here are a few more to chew on. I will give the answers at the bottom.

    1) What do YOU want?

    2) I am not interested in anyone who is interested in that boy.

    3) You look better than Veronica Lake

    4) Let her finish

    5) Come back to me

    Answers: 1) The Notebook, 2) Bull Durham, 3) LA Confidential, 4) Out of Africa (when the Baroness is begging for help for the African tribe), 5) Somewhere in Time

Leave a Reply

