Safe travels and take along an extra dose of patience

In spite of retailers trying to steal the thunder, Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. It means time with family and friends. My favorite memories as a child were going to my grandmother’s house for Thanksgiving. Now, we have that house, where we will host 15 or more folks for dinner. And, we honor my grandmother, who we called Big Mama, by making her cornbread dressing.

I have written before about Big Mama and Granddaddy. They were each very special people and very different personalities. My grandfather was very quiet and worked with his hands building houses. He also loved to fish and we would leave early morning to drive to the lake returning with endless lines of fish.

Big Mama was a character and had character. She was very funny and was as talkative as my grandfather was quiet. She worked in retail sales for years and had relationships with families as she helped dress their kids all the way through college. Yet, unlike today, she did not work in the store on Thanksgiving.

I bring this up today, as I want people to travel safely to their many destinations. This goes for folks in other countries as they begin travel for their various holidays and year-end events. With things that have occurred in Paris, Beirut, Egypt and Mali recently, we need to remind ourselves to live our lives to their fullest and hug our friends and loved ones closely when we see them.

And, as we travel, please take along an extra dose of patience. Many travel officials are doing their darnedest to make us safe from those who want to do people harm. Help them, help you by being patient, considerate and kind. Expect and plan for travel delays. And, always remember, we choose how we react to things. Don’t cede that power and get flustered by things that are outside of your control. People in line behind you do not want to be in the line with the exasperated or angry traveler, just as you don’t want to be behind one yourself.

Happy Thanksgiving all. Safe travels and may the force (of patience) be with you.

 

15 thoughts on “Safe travels and take along an extra dose of patience

  1. That was beautiful, Keith! Patience is a big issue for sure and it causes a lot of problems. Thank you for your lovely wishes and the input of focusing on what really matters in life – the people.

      • Raye, I am in good company being confused with Mr. B. I thought you were referring to my BTG moniker, in short. I wish there was an edit function for comments, as I have way too much operator error with missing words, the wrong words, or the infernal autocorrect on my phone which helps half of the time and hurts the other half. Thanks, Keith

  2. My husband and I will be staying close to home but patience is still key. The stores are gearing up already for the holiday crazies and the traffic is worse than normal since many people have taken the whole week off. Yikes, wake me up when it’s over!

    Have a great holiday with your family!

Leave a Reply

