A Letter to the President from a Republican Voter

The following letter was reported on in a MSN News article and can be found in the attached link below. It is followed by a link to a video where the author reads the letter. The letter speaks for itself. I have used his name as it was cited in both links.

“To My President,

I sincerely hope that this reaches you, as far too often praise is hard to come by. Apologies to people who deserve it perhaps even less so.

I did not vote for you. Either time. I have voted Republican for the entirety of my life.

I proudly wore pins and planted banners displaying my Republican loyalty. I was very vocal in my opposition to you–particularly the ACA.

Before I briefly explain my story allow me to first say this: I am so very sorry. I understand written content cannot convey emotions very well–but my level of conviction has me in tears as I write this. I was so very wrong. So very very wrong.

You saved my life. I want that to sink into your ears and mind. My President, you saved my life, and I am eternally grateful.

I have a ‘pre-existing condition’ and so could never purchase health insurance. Only after the ACA came into being could I be covered. Put simply to not take up too much of your time if you are in fact taking the time to read this: I would not be alive without access to care I received due to your law.

So thank you from a dumb young man who thought he knew it all and who said things about you that he now regrets. Thank you for serving me even when I didn’t vote for you.

Thank you for being my President.

Honored to have lived under your leadership and guidance,

Brent Nathan Brown”

I have written before about an attorney in the Charlotte area who spends much of his time helping largely Republican voters figure out what to do about health care claims, since they did not sign up for the Affordable Care Act. Obamacare, while imperfect and complex, is working pretty well by several measures. Yet, these voters listened to politicians rather than people who had their specific interests in mind.

We need candidates and leaders to stop the continual naysaying and help make it better. One of those areas is to expand Medicaid in the remaining 19 states, which evidence reported by George Washington University and various healthcare foundations, say would help people, the state economy and rural hospitals, some of which are closing down. It is these rural areas that are suffering the most and the hospital often is the largest employer in the area. When it goes, more than hospital jobs are impacted. It should be noted, three more states are close to expanding Medicaid.

 

http://www.msn.com/en-us/news/us/%e2%80%98thank-you-for-serving-me-when-i-didn%e2%80%99t-vote-for-you%e2%80%99-a-republican-writes-the-president-after-obamacare-saved-his-life/ar-BBqiYpa?ocid=spartandhp

http://www.msn.com/en-us/video/peopleandplaces/president-obama-meets-the-republican-who-opposed-him/vi-AAgvonP?ocid=spartandhp

 

15 thoughts on “A Letter to the President from a Republican Voter

  1. As someone with a pre-existing condition, I too embraced the ACA (although, as a supporter of Obama and a believer in universal healthcare, I would have anyway). It’s hard to imagine going back to a time when having a serious illness 25 years ago would bar me from getting health insurance.

    • Thanks Janis, I agree with you on all counts. When people say their old policy was better, it did not have a guaranteed issue or renewability clause. The value of this feature to all is key, but to some it is essential. Keith

  2. I just had this conversation with a neighbor who was going on and on about “this administration.” I had to call him out on this very issue. His son was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes 3 years ago. Since then, the father lost his job and got a new one, along with a change in insurance. I asked if his son was covered and he replied “yea, why wouldn’t he be?” Let’s just say he knows now and had no clue. I have been Obama’s defense lawyer for too long ….

    • Lisa, thanks for being an advocate. This poor man can do no right in too many folks’ eyes, even when he has. He is not perfect, but he has served our country pretty well. Keith

    • Thanks Hugh. It needs heightened publicity. I know many GOP legislators were upset with the GOP Mayor who wanted to save his hospital in a small NC town by begging for the expansion of Medicaid by walking to Washington.

  3. This letter is remarkable similar to a video that has been viraling on FB. If only more people had the sense to recognize that, though ACA is not all that anyone hoped it would be, it is so very much a step in the right direction.

    • Linda, I attached the video link. I think it is the same. This is worthy of attention by many. I agree that it is a step in the right direction. Keith

  4. Note to Readers: I have been asked over the last couple of years to speak with folks about healthcare claims. I must be careful as I am not a licensed broker or navigator. But, they had shied away from the ACA as they heard it was bad. This is what people are dealing with. They heard it was bad. I guided them to a navigator and each got coverage because they could at the time – the enrollment season was open or they lost her job.The attorney I mention above is helping people who missed their enrollment opportunity.

    Again, this law is not perfect, but it is saving lives and giving people access to coverage. It needs to be improved, but it needs the GOP legislators to stop politicking against because the other side passed it. That posturing has left people in a heap of hurt.

Leave a Reply

