Tuesday’s Gone with the Wind

The above song lyric is from a great song by Lynryd Skynryd, a southern rock band hailing from my home town. It is a fitting song, since the initial band left us much too soon after a tragic plane crash that took its lead singer and others and altered its course.

With this song lyric in mind, I want to note a few other things that seemingly have “gone with the wind” or at least are eroding away:

– Civil discourse seems to be on the demise at a time when we need it most. If you disagree with someone, you need not take his or head off. Respond the way you would want to be responded to. And, listen to hear and not to respond.

– Handwritten letters are a lost art it seems. To me, it is a treat to get a note or card in the mail. When my first son went to college, I sent him a letter a week. When we moved him out, I stumbled onto the saved letters.

– Political correctness can be over done, but abandoning it for frank dialogue does not give the speaker the right to lie or be a jerk. One can be frank and still have a sense of decorum. See Civil discourse above.

– Privacy continues its decline, with Social Media, marketing segmentation and mining, hacking, and the absence of filters between people’s brains and fingers or mouth. Just because you think it or did it, does not mean we need to know about it.

– Our world remains a beautiful place. The biggest threat to it is us. All religious documents encourage us to be better stewards of our earth. There is no Planet B, so we better take care of this one.

If there is a theme above, it is we must treat each other and our planet better. We could start by treating ourselves with more respect. We are an imperfect lot, so we should cut each other a break. We can have civil discourse to discuss our problems. We stand a better chance of solving them that way.

17 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Gone with the Wind

  1. Amen! I stumbled on the letters that I had written home from college when looking through my mother’s papers after she passed away. Although I cringed to read what a know-it-all I was then, I was so touched that she kept them. The emails and texts that have taken the place of written – or even typed – correspondence, has made us poorer.

    • Janis, it is so precious that she saved them. You reminded me of a cute story. My Grandmother used to send my Mother letters while in college, which she returned until my Mother got too busy.
      My Grandmother’s cure was to stop writing until she received a sheepish letter from my Mother asking her to write again.

      We found a letter my Grandmother wrote to her Mother when she was 16. That would have been in 1927. Letters are gold. Keith

    • Well, we can try to throw out some seeds. One of the things I like about PBS Newshour is they require civil discussion. If people are not, they are not asked back.

      I don’t use Twitter, as its 140 character limit squeezes out courtesies at the the beginning and end of notes. It is built to insult or praise with little in between. Since most things are not black and white, the civility and subtlety is lost.

  2. Note to Readers: I did not include two topics that are also eroding away in the wind. The desire to be informed by reputable sources is on the wane. Too many do not watch or read any news that is not sports or entertainment based. Too much news lacks veracity with biased, shallow or conflicted reporting, so even those who watch may not be getting the real story.

      • I would love to see her get a chance to work with Angela Merkel of Germany and Theresa May of the UK, plus all other leaders. Seeing three women in important positions would be a future oriented collaboration.

  3. Note to Readers: Although the purpose of the song lyric was to lead into my discussion, in advance of writing a more complete post, I wanted to quickly comment on Lynyrd Skynyrd. My favorites of their songs are not their biggest hits. “They call me the Breeze” and “Gimme a T for Texas” are two bluesy rock and roll songs. My favorite ballad is “Simple Man” when they sing of how their mama told them to live. I also enjoy “The Ballad of Curtis Loew” about an influential African-American guitarist. It should be noted when they first started out, they once opened for the Rolling Stones. They were the first band that kept the Stones’ audience mesmerized.

    • Christy, plus it is nice getting something other than bills and ads from the mail box. My mother is in an assisted living facility, so I write her a couple of times a month. Being a former teacher, she corrects my handwriting. Let’s make this a trend. Keith

  4. Note to Readers: I was thinking people use political incorrectness like a weapon as they are righting a perceived wrong. Yet, like a certain candidate who does it more than anyone, it is equally apparent he cannot tolerate it being used on him.

    I believe being forthright or frank is acceptable, but it can be done with civility, which invites dialogue. I had a colleague who would say “Help me understand….” as a precursor to a frank question. I have shared some tough feedback with clients with the precursor of “I would be remiss if I did not share with you…” Another way is to agree in part or with the raising of an issue, but sharing where you disagree. As noted above, you need not take someone’s head off when you disagree.

Leave a Reply

