Can we start this date over?

Mind you, I am far from perfect, so please remember that as you read on. Like many, I have well intentioned friends who set me up on blind dates.

Now, I have been married for over 31 years, so these dates were before the Internet and social media. So, my dates were truly sight unseen.

One of my blind dates was a teacher, but on our first date in June, she told me she was headed to be a camp counselor for the summer the next day. So, why didn’t we delay? It went fine, but it was a sole date.

One of my blind dates told me she had only one kidney. I found that to be in the too much information category, at least for a first date. It is a hard comment to respond to as conversation goes down a different path. She was nice, but we did not connect.

Another was very nice and we went on several dates, but I think I was more into her than she was into me. The excuses not to go out were more frequent, so our brief relationship waned. What I remember today about her is her cousin was a successful pro golfer and she was cute.

Another blind date was going well. She was very inquisitive and when I returned the favor, she’d caught me off guard. “What do you do?’ I asked. “I am a minister,” she responded. Had I been older and more mature, I would have been OK with this. But, at the age I was, having carnal knowledge with a minister was something I was not ready for.

A final blind date I will mention turned out to be rude. Even as a young man, I have always tried to be polite. So, irrespective of how pretty she was, her rudeness was off-putting. I could not wait to end this date.

I know I have bored the hell out of some dates or just was not their cup of tea. They likely have similar stories. I do know I am so glad I no longer have to date. My wife invited me out for a drink with her brother and his wife for our first date. She says it was because she had noticed me while on crutches. I guess I was looking pitiful.

Tell me about some of your interesting dates, blind or otherwise.

17 thoughts on “Can we start this date over?

    • Janis, the proportion of time the date consumes talking about him or herself is indicative. Have you read “Blink,” by Malcolm Gladwell. In it, he speaks of those 10 minute singles date interviews. He said our subconscious can tell in a few seconds if there is an attraction. It takes the conscious awhile to catch up. Keith

      • I have read Blink. Wouldn’t it have been great, and a better use of our time, if we could have just politely bowed out of a date after our subconscious determined it was a bust? Many times when I was dating, I would have much rather been home curled up with a good book.

      • Janis, that would be great. I would have loved to end the date with the rude person fairly soon. Of course, now folks pre-arrange a call from a friend to the bored dater to call them away, as needed. Keith

  1. I don’t recall any blind dates. But throughout high school and college I dated a lot. In those days we feared pregnancy so I had no “carnal knowledge” with any of them, but if I fell for one I wore my heart on my sleeve and scared her away. The others I got bored with quickly: I was definitely “on the prowl.” What for? I had no idea!

    • Hugh, what is the old Bob Seger line “I wish I didn’t know now what I didn’t know them?” It was more exciting as we did not know and were exploring. With that said, I do wish I could go back and be more mature with various relationships. Blind dates are interesting, but usually unsuccessful. My nephew had a successful experience and is now married to his blind date, but it was not really a date as they were invited to the same party with no advertisement. Keith

  2. Note to Readers: While not a blind date, I have written before about a few mishaps on regular dates:
    – the time I fell backwards off a choral riser at a local play at a church hall. On of my chair legs must have scooted off the back. Fortunately, the loud noise was before the second act started and only bruised my ego. We continued going out, but that was funny.
    – after breaking a date with me as I walked to the door, I tried to back down a hilly diagonal driveway at her parents house. My car got stuck on a rock garden and her father had to tow me off as she fumed from the living room window.
    – the time we went to a crowded pizza place and after a long wait for our pizza, the waiter dropped it face down right beside our table – here’s your pizza – oops.

  3. Is there anything more socially terrifying and awkward than the blind date?

    Even in the modern age of internet dating – you still have to have that first meet and it feels almost exactly like a blind date. Maybe worse, because a lot of the conversation that would have happened on an old fashioned blind date already happened online.

Leave a Reply

