A tribute to my mother – may she rest in peace

My mother passed away early on Christmas morning. She was as fine a Christian as we ever knew, so passing on Jesus’ birthday seems fitting for her. She was an elementary school teacher and taught Bible Study Fellowship for many years. She was predeceased by her husband to whom she was married for 54 years after meeting at college. She left behind three children, six grandchildren and one great-grandchild.

My mom loved her husband who passed in 2006. Their meeting at college was eventful, as our father actually fell into her lap. The story goes he was playing basketball for the college team and she arrived late. As she quickly sat and waited for the action to clear on one side of the court so she could walk around, he chased a loose ball and landed in her lap. She told me of another story where she jokingly pushed him into a pond, when the Dean saw her talking with a male student on the female side of the dorm buildings, as she did not want to be accused of fraternizing.

Mom loved her children and grandchildren. She was an avid reader and shared that love with each of them. When not preparing lesson plans for her students or fellow bible study worshipers, she was avid about her crossword puzzles, sometimes completing three a day. She was involved with the church making arrangements when outreach to people was needed for sickness, funerals, and celebrations.

And, she was devoted to her mother and siblings before they passed before her. She often travelled to visit them during their times of need. She simply was a doer who helped others. As her memory faded, her ability to help others faded as well, although she was an active participant in events at the assisted living facility.

There are two saving graces to her passing. We were told she did not suffer much and went quickly. One of the caregivers said Mom asked her to pray for her earlier that day, when helping her to bed. Also, with Alzheimer’s, my mother still remained the sweet person we knew, so she had not gotten to the point where the paranoia and unawareness causes routine belligerent behavior. She knew we were on her team, even though she was not certain which teammate we were. I am a better person because of my mother. I will miss her. We all will.

I

 

47 thoughts on “A tribute to my mother – may she rest in peace

  1. I am so sorry to hear about your mother, Keith. She sounds like she was a fun-loving person who made a lot of great memories for you to look back on. I know she raised her son to become a good man. I’m sending you a big hug … comfort and peace to you, my friend.

    • Jill, many thanks. Hug received. She was indeed a fun-loving and spiritual person. She walked the talk of Jesus’ words better than many. Take care, Keith

  2. That is a beautiful tribute, and for sure your mother is smiling over you and her loved ones right now… she must have been an amazing and unique woman – one with a good sense of humor as well. Thank you for sharing those stories at such a difficult moment in your life.

  3. What a beautiful tribute. My condolences to you and your family. Thanks for sharing your mother with us, Keith. And we are lucky that she lived and raised you and that we all have the opportunity to associate with you. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss, Keith. Your love for your mother (and hers for you) shines through your words. It sounds like she enjoyed a long, full life and was surrounded by a loving family and community. It doesn’t get much better than that. Virtual hugs to you and your family.

    • VJ, I was reading your blog post earlier about missing teaching. Mom thought she was still teaching when she helped the activities coordinator at her assisted living facility. She loved being teacher. Thanks for your comment, Keith

  5. Oh, Keith, I am so very sorry! Losing a mother is always something so very hard.To tell from your beautiful and poignant tribute she has not only been close to your heart but will always be a part of it! She was lucky with such a loving son! My heartfelt sympathy to you and the whole family 💖

  6. Dear Keith,

    I am so saddened to learn about your loss of your Mom. What you have now is the gift of many wonderful memories and this is what’ll withstand the test of time.

    It has been 13 years since my Mom passed away but I and my adult children still take time to share our memories. I can’t believe it has been so many years.

    God Bless You, Gronda

    • Gronda, many thanks. That is how we keep them alive isn’t it? My brother said he will see an interesting play on TV and think of telling my Dad who passed away ten years ago. Thanks for sharing your story. Keith

    • Rob, many thanks for the kind offer and wish of condolences. The visitation is tomorrow and services Thursday. I am going to try to speak, but it may be more than I can handle. Keith

  7. Note to Readers: Thank you again for all your kind remarks. My mother had a beautiful tribute the past two days. It was wonderful to see all of the folks who came and offered emails, cards and comments on her obituary blog. Also, while reaching out to her old friends and relatives, many of whom I knew, I discovered some of their losses, some who were contemporaries of mine. Breast cancer took one and one had an aortic aneurism that took her at a gathering, both in their fifties. And, I learned what my mother had, was affecting more of her friends and relatives – that is Alzheimer’s. With mom’s memory fading, she was not apprised of the losses, or if she was, she did not remember them.

    My advice is to reach out to old friends and relatives, if you don’t already. It is a shame we find these things out after the fact rather at the time or before, where we could offer our help, shoulder or a kind word. All the best in 2017.

  8. Keith, beautiful words honoring your mother. I send blessings and peace your way. My guess would be, that you will be seeing lots of little “signs” and angel winks in the next few weeks-stay away for them. I’ve lost a lot of people in my day, and I’m so glad someone told me that so very long ago. Sparkles and smiles, Lis

  9. Note to Readers: We found some “unseen by us” old pictures of my mother as a little girl. One of my favorites is of her and her younger sister, probably ages thirteen and sixteen, cutting up with model poses on their front step, with her shorter sister a couple of steps up. It is two girls having fun in front of the camera. It was delightful. We also saw some pictures of my grandmother all dolled up with her first husband and my real grandfather, who I did not know and only met once, and with her second husband, my step-grandfather who I loved dearly. Like my mother, she was a pretty woman and it is nice to see her so young.

  10. Sorry for your loss. I believe we will meet those who went before us again someday. I also meet them in dreams and it’s so lovely to see them again. That’s a little consolation even if I will always miss them. Take care.

  11. I’m really sorry for you and your family’s loss, Keith. I haven’t been around as much as usual so I missed this post. What a wonderful tribute. May she rest in peace always.

    • Lisa, many thanks. The suddenness is tough. On the bright side, she went quickly in her sleep and did not suffer. Plus, she remained her sweet self as her memory continued to betray her with Alzheimers’s. She knew we were on her team, but often did know which teammate we were. Keith

      • I’m sure it’s really hard. I think it’s even harder to lose someone so close during the holidays. Hugs and prayers for you and your family.

      • Lisa, it is. Mom loved Christmas. I heard early Christmas morning, so we opened presents as I wanted to see the kids’ faces and then I drove down ahead of my family. Christmas was a blur. We just took our tree down yesterday, as we felt we did not get to see it much. Thanks, Keith

Leave a Reply

