Skiing is a dangerous sport

Having grown up in Florida, I have snow skied exactly one time. Being tall, I resembled a tree falling over again and again. The first thing one should do in learning to ski is to lie on the side of a hill and get up, as that will be a frequent exercise.

I am writing this as a second child has been caught dangling from the ski lift when their backpack got caught on the chair. Fortunately, both survived without injury, just the fear of such. I imagine signs will be placed on all future lifts to be wary of your backpacks.

This reminds me of the time a former client ended up in traction merely by exiting a ski lift. His two sons were messing around near the jump off point and when he was asking them to be safe, lost sight of his own safety and skied into the fence near the drop off and tore his leg up.

Back to my own situation, my wife and I went skiing with her brother and his first wife, who were both good skiers. Note to new skiers, skiing is best learned as a child before your bones get harder and take longer to heal and you know these facts. As I am lying on the hill for the umpteenth time, my sister-in-law skied over to me and looked down and said, “You don’t look like you are having any fun.”

My response was simple, “No, I am not.” I spent the rest of the afternoon by the fire inside nursing my soreness and ego. Skiing will make you sore, but falling will make you more so.

Having watched the movie “Eddie the Eagle,” about the courageous Brit who deified odds and limitations on his abilities and flew as a ski jumper in the Olympics in Calgary, Canada, I recognized how crumpled I would be after crashing like he did in training. Coming in last was irrelevant because he did what few of us can do. I wish I had his courage to keep at it, but he was more committed to his cause.

So, I must recognize I will never be an Eddie the Eagle, nor do I wish to be. Because I would be more like Fallen Limbs.

24 thoughts on “Skiing is a dangerous sport

  1. Fun post! I skied as a kid because my neighbor in Connecticut owned a ski slope. I got fairly good and then moved to Baltimore where the skiing stopped — though I tried my skills on a nearly slope about 5′ high! Later, when my bones were harder I tried cross-country skiing and found that to be a real challenge. Now that my knees cry out as I go downstairs I have decided to give up the sport in all its many forms (no, I never tried jumping!) Ah, fond memories!

    • Well done. I was more suited to sports with balls or running. I know about the knee thing. I had to stop doing the yoga exercises where I put weight on my knees.

  2. Dear Keith,

    I never graduated from the bunny slope which was tough enough. You are so right when you say that the first lesson one should learn, is how to get up from a fallen position, otherwise you could get stuck for awhile.

    Ciao, Gronda

  3. I’ve only skied (and I use that term loosely) twice and that was enough. After skiing into a group taking a beginners class – no injuries, except my pride – I spent the rest of the day by a warm fire, drinking hot toddies. I decided that I much prefer warmth to cold. I might try cross-country skiing or snow shoeing if I ever get the chance.

  4. I am glad nothing worse happened. Seriously, I only started skiing during school time because I had to. I am living in a ski region but I haven’t skied for 30 years…. and I don’t miss it… lol!

  5. The last time I skied, the guys I was skiing with said if I’d lost one more article of clothing (when I fell) they’d have given me a ’10’ —- The next day I cooked, worked on art, and after that, the rest of my vacations were in the tropics. I always prefered warm climates to cold ones!

  6. Watching people ski is lovely and amazing… I get to think about Balance and Continuity (which I guess migh be the two important tips on skiing better)… I learn from skiing but never learned how to ski… Wonderful piece Mr. Keith….
    The man who skied into a fence, that’s wasn’t a good bump😕

  7. I went skiing once. Cried the whole way up the mountain. Decided to sit and scoot down the mountain, opposed to using those sticks on my feet that I had never worn in my life before that moment, and hit the lodge for the remainder of the day.
    Skiing is not for everyone, but lodges are great.

  8. My first ski adventure at 16 ended much as yours did. I was unceremoniously dumped onto the bunny hill with my sister and told to do this and thus. We both clutched the old fashioned rope tow and headed uphill. About halfway up, I lost it and came unglued from the rope tow and hopeless tangled in my long, skinny skis. I ended up doing the splits backwards down the hill. It took sis and me most of the morning to right ourselves at the bottom of the hill. We spent the rest of the day and evening in the bar. (I looked older than I was.)

    The problem in this scenario is the “friends” who take their friends skiing and give them a few tips and expect good things to happen. This is NOT the way to learn to ski. If only each and every newbie were provided at least one lesson on their first skiing adventure, there would be far fewer broken bones and avowed non skiers in the world. Friends should never “teach” friends to ski. 😮

Leave a Reply

