It’s Elementary

My daughter is a keen judge of what she likes and dislikes. She will not follow the crowd for its own sake, which we love. She will surprise us with an astute observation that shares her reasoning of such opinions.

An example of this is she adores the show about a modern-day Sherlock Holmes called “Elementary.” But, she does not like the Benedict Cumberbatch version on the BBC, nor the old black and white series with Basil Rathbone.

The reason is she thinks the character Sherlock Holmes is too much of a jerk and need not be. In her view, he can still be adroit, but treat others better. She likes the “Elementary” version because the character has a drug problem and is more human. Holmes’ flaws in this version make him more approachable and permit Watson to help him not just with crime solving.

Jonny Lee Miller plays the more flawed Holmes and does the role justice. My daughter likes that Watson is played by Lucy Liu, giving the show more context and a female character to commensurate with. Plus, Aidan Quinn adds some context in his detective role as benefactor of Holmes and Watson’s crime solving help.

What I find interesting is my daughter also loves Hercule Poirot in the Agatha Christie novels. Poirot is unusual in his traits, but can be a tad rude on occasion. His quirkiness is similar to the Elementary version of Holmes in that he is flawed, but colorful.

I agree that Sherlock can be a jerk and could sand around the edges a little more. But, the older I have gotten, I have witnessed highly intelligent people who exhibit hints of some traits of Asperger’s Syndrome where they focus on minute details, but less on social cues. So, maybe I am willing to give Holmes the benefit of the doubt on occasion. Yet, I can still get perturbed when he is showing his hind end. It’s elementary.

15 thoughts on “It’s Elementary

    • Dru, that is his and your appeal – human with a heart to help. I read that Mary Tyler Moore’s show did not test well as test audiences thought she was a loser. Yet, her character was like all of us which is why we watched. Thanks for the reblog. Keith

  1. Actually, the Cumberbatch version Sherlock is seriously flawed — including a drug habit. They kept that true to them original. Personally, I like them all because they solve crimes with their brains instead of brute force!!

  2. I enjoy both the “Elementary” Holmes and the “Sherlock” Holmes for different reasons. Both are flawed and struggle with personal relationships, but I love to watch them work problems out in their heads. Poirot was classic too. There is less and less intelligent programming on TV so I’m happy when we have several shows to watch and enjoy.

    • Thanks Janis. I have only seen the Cumberbatch version once. We do like British TV given the better dialogue. Fans of Call the Midwife, Doc Martin, Poldark, etc.

  3. I must admit to being out in left field with sunglasses on and snoozing on the one, as I have never seen any of the versions, nor have I heard of any of the actors except Cumberbatch, whom I only heard of through blogger-friend Choosing. So, I will just say that your daughter sounds like she is a chip off the old block. 🙂

  4. Note to Readers: Several responses got me thinking about unusual detectives in TV series or books. The one that stands out is Columbo, where Peter Falk plays a disheveled, disarming, but effective crime solver. I am also found of Father Brown, who for some reason gets on the bad side of the police, which is puzzling because he solves their murders. What are some of your favorites?

Leave a Reply

