Invisibles – people who show up and do their job without fanfare

A few years ago, I wrote the following post about people who show up and do their job, without drawing attention to themselves. Then, they do the same thing the next day and the day after that. Organizations thrive on the dependable people, whether it is a business, non-profit, team, school, or government. In the well-researched book “The Fifth Risk” by Michael Lewis, he shares that the so-called deep state are the people who know what they are talking about, unlike the politicians who try to discredit them. They are the ones who make things run.

On CBS Good Morning last week, David Zweig was interviewed about his recent book called “Invisibles – The Power of Anonymous Work in an Age of Relentless Self-promotion.” The book sounds like a fascinating read which explores the success of those who show up to work each day, do their job well and collaborate with others toward common goals. These folks do not seek the limelight and are definitely not about merchandising themselves. And, each has a very rewarding career doing a job well and sharing the success with others.

In my over thirty-three years of working as a consultant, teammate, employee and, at times, manager of people, one observation seems to ring true – “work will find good people.” These are the folks who don’t talk about getting it done, they work with others to get it done. In any business, we find people who are over-committing and routinely missing deadlines or producing less than quality deliverables. We will also find people who talk about good ideas, but fewer people who get up out of their chair and go do something.

The invisible people need not be the “stars” of the team. Sometimes their strength is project or process management competence. They are the machine that gets work product done. In other words, they do the basic blocking and tackling that does not make the headlines. A successful football team is more due to those guards and tackles who make way for the stars. A business is no different. And, many do not do their job exceedingly well, but do it well-enough, and show up each day to do it again. These are those solid C+ and B- performers that every organization needs to be successful. They have an intrinsic knowledge of how to do things within that organization. If leaders do not heed their value and input, they will not be as successful or may fail.

I had an old management professor who advised his son on how to be successful, advice which I share with others. If you do these three simple things, you will have some success. “Show up, show up on time and show up dressed to play.”  It matters not the underlying business or work group. If you are not there, others have to pick up the slack. If you are constantly late, others have to pick up the slack. If you are not there wearing clothes to present yourself as expected to your colleagues and clients or dressed with the right attitude, others will have to pick up the slack. Then, an invisible person becomes visible and management will realize they can do their job without you.

The lesson of the book is a good one. You do not have to merchandise yourself to be successful. Competence is a terrific aphrodisiac to an employer. I often help people network as it is my way of paying it forward. I was helping someone I know well get a job and she is all about competence, efficiency, teaming and effectiveness. She is not as good at merchandising and your first impression would be not to hire her. I used to tell prospective employers, she may not be the one you propose to, but she is the one you want to be married to. She understands strategy, tactics and execution and that is a powerful combination.

Let me close with some observations on what to avoid. If you hear someone say he/ she is a “big picture” person, don’t hire them. If you hear someone use far too many “I’s and me’s” and not many “we’s and us’s” don’t hire them. If someone “throws people under the bus” more than accepting responsibility, don’t hire them. I recognize fully the need to have people who can sell services and merchandise themselves. But, the merchandisers I would prefer to work with know that it is a team of others who back up their commitments. Many of them are in this group called “invisibles.”

4 thoughts on “Invisibles – people who show up and do their job without fanfare

  1. Good post Keith. I fear the emphasis on self-esteem over the last decade or so has created a generation of “superstars”. I remember telling my kids that what is lacking are hard workers- be that and you’ll always have a job.

    • VJ, many thanks and good advice to your kids. Superstar is an overused term, just as giving 110%. In performance appraisals, the self-grading will always exceed the manager’s grades, as almost everyone thinks they are above average. That is a statistical impossibility. Keith

  2. Note to Readers: An office that I was fortunate to be a part was filled with these kinds of people. Yet, they were so good at what they did, it was hard to keep people from noticing their actions. Two long time administrative assistants remain from that time and I can assure you the office would be lost without them.

  3. Note to Readers: I sent this post to an email distribution group and received this heartfelt response. I received similar responses, but felt this one resonated. I will edit it for brevity.

    “Thank you so much for this. I am one of those people who feel like they are invisible at times but I know I get the job done. I think why I feel invisible sometimes is because after showing up and being on time, dressed appropriately and going above and beyond, the staff and board just expect that from me. So I feel invisible sometimes. …It is not about me, it is about the people we serve and the staff. I work in development so my heart mission is to bring in the funding, donations, in-kinds that we need so we can continue our good work.

    It is even harder to feel visible while working from home. Thank you for this email story. It inspires me to continue my heart journey.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.