Pieces of April – an encore from a great group

A long time favorite band of mine is Three Dog Night. The three singers who took turn as lead and harmonized so well are Danny Hutton, Cory Wells and Chuck Negron. They had a huge number of hits singing songs written by great songwriters like Randy Newman, Paul Williams and Leo Sayer, to name a few.

A favorite and timely song comes to mind as we head into Spring. “Pieces of April” was written by David Loggin.

April gave us springtime and the promise of the flowers
And the feeling that we both shared and the love that we called ours
We knew no time for sadness, that’s a road we each had crossed
We were living a time meant for us, and even when it would rain
we would laugh it off.

I’ve got pieces of April, I keep them in a memory bouquet
I’ve got pieces of April, it’s a morning in May

We stood on the crest of summer, beneath an oak that blossomed green
Feeling as I did in April, not really knowing what it means
But it must be then that you stand beside me now to make me feel this way
Just as I did in April, but it’s a morning in May.

I’ve got pieces of April, I keep them in a memory bouquet
I’ve got pieces of April, but it’s a morning in May

I’ve got pieces of April, I keep them in a memory bouquet
I’ve got pieces of April, but it’s a morning in May

This song is one of melancholy and love lost. I love the reference to the wonderful time together in April, but it is now May. This is a metaphor that simplifies a longer break-up to just two months, but even if it were that short, it is impactful.

If you want great traveling music with your family, download or access a greatest hits CD and just sing along. Just a few of the many hits include “One,” “Mama told me not to come,” “Eli’s coming,” “Easy to be hard (from Hair),” “Black and white,” “Just an old fashioned love song,” and “Shambala.” Our kids would ask for this one.

For those interested in how they got their name, a girlfriend of Danny Hutton’s described that the indigenous Australians would sleep with three dingos on a very cold night. Three Dog Night gives us all great comfort.

17 thoughts on “Pieces of April – an encore from a great group

  1. I am listening to the song right now. It has this melancholy, you are talking about, in its whole composition. It is melancholy, yet it holds a hidden smile for the appreciation of the gift they had.

    • Erika, well said. You hit upon an excellent point. When people fall out of love, if the splitting apart is handled gently, the two can still have good feelings about the time spent together. That is a key reason the end of “The way we were” is so poignant and sad as they still cared for each other, but knew they were better off apart. Keith

      • That’s right. I think if both are clear about the breakup but handle it in a gentle way it can grow into a strong friendship since they truly are soulmates but meant to accompany each other in a different way. But it can become a problem if one still hangs on to that relationship as it used to be, pretending to accept the split and the friendship, hoping for a change. That melancholy can be very painful and the thorn can get stuck deep. Sorry, maybe I digressed here but your thoughts made me ponder.

      • Another dynamic of bands/ groups which always interests me, is despite of internal tensions which at times can be vitriolic collections of individuals can produce such quality music.
        After Buffalo Springfield’s acrimonious split particularly along the Stephen Stills / Neil Young fault line, I was quite surprised on reading Young was joining then then Crosby, Stills and Nash…and yet

  2. Note to Readers: A few more Three Dog Night hits include: “Joy to the World,” “Liar,” “Family of Man,” “Celebrate,” “Out in the country” and “Never been to Spain.”

  3. I always liked Three Dog Night. I wonder if you’ve seen the 2003 film Pieces of April with Katie Holms. I don’t recall if it had Three Dog Night music or not. I remember it as a cute little comedy.

  4. Note to Readers: In looking something up, I realized Three Dog Night is NOT in the Rock-n-roll Hall of Fame. Here is what one resource says: “It is bewildering to us that Three Dog Night is not in The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Three Dog Night earned 12 gold albums and recorded 21 consecutive Billboard Top 40 hits, seven of which went gold.”

  5. The “old fashioned love song”: I heard a snippet of it decades ago and it was the intro, which is a quiet and slow. From that I got the idea it was a slow and probably boring song. Obviously not!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.