John Barry wrote the movie soundtracks to our lives (a reprise)

Many do not know the name of John Barry Prendergast who was born in York, England in 1933. More know him by his first two names, but when he died in 2011, I would wager the average person on the street would not know his name or what he did for us. He made his music our music by composing some of the most memorable movie scores. Mind you, these movies would have been good without his contribution, but the memories we have of them are significantly flavored by his contributions. So much, when we hear the beautiful music he wrote, we are transported to the movie. That is magical.

His most known piece is probably the theme from James Bond. He wrote music for eleven of the Bond movies starting with the very first one, “Dr. No.” Yet, that piece, while memorable, pales in comparison to the music he wrote for movies like “Out of Africa,” for which he won one of his five Academy Awards. The scenery, story and acting that make this movie memorable are leveraged by the, at times, exhilarating and, at times, reverent music he wrote. I cannot listen to his music without thinking of Robert Redford and Meryl Streep’s characters flying over the African tundra.

Yet, his first African score landed him two Oscars, the fantastic “Born Free.” Both the title song and movie score are as magnificent as his later “Out of Africa” work. He also won Oscars for two very different movies, “The Lion in Winter,” which starred Peter O’Toole as Henry II, and “Dances with Wolves,” with Kevin Costner. The latter movie is not unlike his Africa themes, as he is at is best when capturing beautiful vistas with a great story and time.

One of my favorites is the score to “Body Heat” starring William Hurt and Kathleen Turner who had a sultry affair in the Florida heat. Barry’s music adds to the double entendre, lust, and subterfuge of this movie. The music is a co-star every bit as much as Richard Crenna, Ted Danson and Mickey Rourke.

While he wrote many other scores, one that resonates with my wife and me is “Somewhere in Time,” with Jane Seymour and Christopher Reeve. The story is enchanting and we fall in love with Jane Seymour just as Reeve’s character did in the movie, leading him to travel back in time. Yet, the music makes what could have been a cheesy story a classic in our view. It takes us from the present to the enchanting past, so much that the Grand Hotel, where it was filmed has “Somewhere in Time” gatherings throughout the year. One of my best Valentine’s Day presents was to give my wife the soundtrack to this movie.

If you get a chance, order these soundtracks or some compilation of his music. It is well worth the listen and, if you enjoys these movies, you will enjoy revisiting them through Barry’s music. It might make a great Valentine’s Day present.

25 thoughts on “John Barry wrote the movie soundtracks to our lives (a reprise)

  1. While I don’t remember the soundtracks, I certainly remember the movies you listed. I saw Somewhere In Time multiple times because I had a mad crush on Christopher Reeve. The setting was gorgeous too. I’ve been enjoying the last season of The Kominsky Method with Kathleen Turner playing Michael Douglass’s ex-wife.

    • Janis, you and my wife should chat about Christopher Reeve. I was fairly smitten with Jane Seymour, so it is a great couples movie. I have not seen “The Kaminsky Method.” I will have to check that out. Keith

  2. Note to our Readers: What I find of interest is many of these movies have a range of scenes from beautiful vistas to intimate dialogue or intrigue. Barry has shown he is equally adept at writing music for various kinds of scenes. “Out of Africa” is a great example with its airplane vista of the land they loved to the romantic scenes between the characters played by Robert Redford and Meryl Streep.

  3. Worthy tribute Keith.
    I did not realise his surname was actually Prendergast. In addition to film soundtracks there were TV productions to add to his list. In the UK you simply knew of ‘John Barry’, another of our music exports in halcyon days.

  4. I knew he wrote a lot of Bond movie music but, not really being a fan of soundtracks, I hadn’t realised how much more he did. No offence to him, though, but my favourite part of the Out Of Africa soundtrack was written by Mozart!

    • Clive, I was unaware of his using a Mozart piece, which reveals my ignorance of Mozart’s work. We have a CD of a select compilation of Barry’s scores. It is worth the listen. Keith

      • Thanks, Keith, I may look that up despite my earlier comment! The Mozart piece is his Clarinet Concerto in A major, K. 622: II. Adagio – one of the most beautiful pieces of music I know. It has been used in several movies.

      • Thanks Clive. I will take a listen. I think that was the point of the movie “Amadeus” that many knew Mozart’s work without knowing he wrote it. Keith

      • I am listening to it now. Truly lovely. I do recognize it, especially as it builds after the first minute or so.

      • The less said about Tony Curtis’ and Roger Moore’s antics, the better. However, the music is haunting. The theme itself is played on the cimbalom, a type of hammered dulcimer originating from Hungary, a quirky choice of instrument that JB also used in his main title music for “The Ipcress File” starring Michael Caine, who first appeared in “Zulu”, another movie with a score by … John Barry. (My mind works like this, sometimes.)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.