Bits and Pieces

A British rock and roll band from the 1960s called The Dave Clark Five had several hit songs, one of which was “Bits and Pieces.” While the song, written by Dave Clark and Mike Smith, was about a break-up, I found its lyrics apply nicely to the MAGA fans that are still lamenting the loss of the former president. First, the lyrics (note the parenthetical is the chorus):

“Since you left me and you said goodbye (I’m in pieces, bits and pieces)

All I do is sit and cry (I’m in pieces, bits and pieces)

You went away and left me misery (I’m in pieces, bits and pieces)

And that’s the way it’ll always be (I’m in pieces, bits and pieces)

You said you loved me and you’d always be mine (I’m in pieces, bits and pieces)

We’d be together ’til the end of time (I’m in pieces, bits and pieces)

Now you say it was just a game (I’m in pieces, bits and pieces)

But all you’re doin’ is leavin’ me pain Time goes by and goes so slow (oh, yeah)

It just doesn’t seem true Only just a few days ago You said you’d love me, never make me blue (I’m in pieces, bits and pieces)

Now you’ve gone and I’m all alone (I’m in pieces, bits and pieces)

And you’re still way up there on your throne (I’m in pieces, bits and pieces)

Nothin’ seems to ever go right (I’m in pieces, bits and pieces)

‘Cause night is day and day is night”

Two lines stand out. The first references “Now you say it was just a game.” The second references “And you’re still way up there on your throne.”

What the followers fail to realize is this is just a game to the former president. He does not realize or care about the impact his deceitful behavior and words have on his followers. Some people who funded his extremely unsuccessful election fraud litigation cases want their money back. And, many of those who traveled to Washington and stormed the Capitol building at his direction are facing charges. The latest shoe to drop is he may have ordered spying on political opponents by the DOJ.

As for the throne thing, that feeds right into his false bravado. How his followers could be duped into thinking he was a common man is maybe one of the greatest con jobs ever. Of course, when we look at one of my favorite quotes from his attorney and fixer Michael Cohen, he said “Donald Trump is a racist, he is a con artist and he is a cheat” under oath. Each of these attributes suggested by Cohen ring true.

As of this writing, the former president is facing more than a 1/2 dozen civil lawsuits and three criminal ones, not counting the aforementioned spying accusation. While the Republican legislators are still trying to put the Pandora back in the box worrying about the next shoe to drop, I do know the leaders of the G7 are welcoming the US return to normalcy in dealing with them. Biden is not perfect, but he is a breath of fresh air compared to his predecessor.

The Dave Clark Five – Bits & Pieces – Top Of The Pops (1964) – Bing video

16 thoughts on “Bits and Pieces

  1. Keith, I’m from Australia, Tasmania in fact. Our six states and two territories are about an eighth of the number in the US of A.
    Y’all ( a recent addition to my vocab ) are able to describe each state as blue or red. Down under we don’t.
    So I wondered if the Dave Clark crew had a more subliminal message as applied to t***P where they say:

    “You said you’d love me, never make me blue”

    From my poor knowledge of your politics, could this be a false flag, where t***p pivots and runs for the other side in 2024?

    Whoops, maybe I should stick to granddad reflections 🤔

    • David, interesting observation, but we fortunately did not label things back then like we do now. This blue/ red state stuff is inane in my view. Keith

    • Thanks Steve. It was luck in some respects as I was toying with an idea on miscellaneous musings called “Bits and Pieces” and started reading the lyrics and noted the similarity.

  2. Spot on observations! I cannot for the life of me understand why some otherwise intelligent people follow this buffoon. I hope one of the many lawsuits manages to convict this criminal.

  3. Well done, Keith, and spot on. I wish the GOP would get their arses in gear and get serious about doing something useful for their constituents rather than looking down that narrow lane towards to next election.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.