Let’s go to a concert – when it is safe again

This is a repeat of an older post dating back before the pandemic. When it is safe to go back, let’s take precautions and start returning to concerts. Again, I encourage all to have the three vaccine shots and wear a mask in any large gathering. We are contemplating returning to a Steely Dan/ Steve Winwood joint billing later this year.

Whether it is a local band or one who has sold millions of songs, attending a venue to hear live music is thrilling and makes you feel alive. My wife and I have stumbled into live music on vacation which was a treat and we have made special plans to attend artists of renown. We have even gone to see our friend play piano in one of his bands  on very short notice. This post is dedicated to him as he suffered a stoke yesterday and may not make it. We are thinking good thoughts for him and his family.

Let’s honor him together and take a trip down memory lane. Please feel free to offer some of your thoughts and experiences.Together, my wife and I have seen some fairly big name performers and with very few exceptions were worth trip. I have even taken my boys to see some artists that my wife has not cared for, but were excellent to us – I could not drag her to see ACDC, Styx or Rush, for example, but we enjoyed the heck out of them. Yet, I was able to get her to see the Allman Brothers, which was well worth the effort.

Some of the well-known artists we have been fortunate enough to see include: Bruce Springsteen, who will leave you worn out, but you could hear just one more; Paul McCartney, from which I had to text my Beatles fanatical brother to guess where we were, Elton John, where we saw three generations of fans singing word for word with Elton; Eric Clapton, who brought along Buddy Guy and Derek Trucks for kicks; Tina Turner, the best performer around; Heart, led by Ann Wilson, one of the greatest Rock and Roll singers around; Tom Petty, who was so very underrated even with his tremendous body of work; Steve Winwood, what a thrill; Rod Stewart, who my wife had to see, but I enjoyed as well; Bob Seger, one of my all time favorites where we got tickets in the nose bleed section; KD Lang (once with Tony Bennett),  who can sing almost anything and does the best version of “Hallelujah” you will ever hear; Bonnie Raitt, God she is great; Peter, Paul and Marya wonderful treat, Chicago, where it rained half the concert, and George Benson, a great guitarist and performer.

In some smaller venues, we saw Mary Chapin Carpenter, who is genuine, talented and funny; Elvis Costello, who my wife did not want to see, but enjoyed immensely; James Taylor, several times and always a treat; Jimmy Buffett, who is especially entertaining when seen with your drunk brother-in-law; Jackson Browne, who actually disappointed (avoid the first concert tour date), but whose music I love nonetheless and Flogging Molly, which was a wonderfully unique experience. We also saw: Arlo Guthrie (twice), John Sebastian, The Association, Delbert McClinton, Marcia Ball (go see her if you can), Marshall Tucker (a band with a tragic history), Altan, a neat Irish band, Blood, Sweat and Tears, Fourplay, Harry Connick, Jr. and I am sure I am leaving off several others. My wife has gone to several with my daughter that were interesting from Owl City to Emilie Autumn, who apparently throws muffins at her audience.

Yet, we have seen some nice local bands that were a thrill, from Jazz to Blues to Swing to Pop. We have bought their CDs to honor their performance and help them out. But, the CDs also provide some memories taking us back to Montreal, New Orleans, Killarney, San Francisco, Blowing Rock or even home in Charlotte or Winston-Salem when we lived there. There is a Cajun restaurant in my home city that has live music every day. A neat memory of ours is my oldest son being asked to sing along with an Irish family in a pub near Watertown, Ireland as he was the lone American who knew the words to “Molly Malone.”.

Music heard at home or in your car is a wonderful experience, but hearing live music makes it memorable. My wife won’t listen to Elvis Costello at home, but she enjoyed his concert, e.g. Yet, let me close with a tribute and memory of our friend Eddie, who had the stroke. Eddie plays in several groups, but the last time we heard him play was at his oldest daughter’s wedding a few months ago. It was also memorable as my wife played social director and got everyone up to dance, including Eddie’s mother. God be with you Eddie. You make us feel better about our lives with your music.

So, let me hear from all of you. What are some of your memorable experiences? Have you seen some of same folks? Do you have friends that play?

29 thoughts on “Let’s go to a concert – when it is safe again

  1. I’ve only seen two of those – Mary Chapin Carpenter and Jackson Browne, both of whom were excellent. there are many more I’d have liked to see amongst your collection, too. I’ll add three English names to your list, in case you ever get the chance to see them: Show of Hands, Kate Rusby, and Bellowhead. Three very different concert experiences, but equally enjoyable.

  2. I am amazed by how many artists you saw in concert. I have not seen the stars you mentioned live. I saw quite a few German and Austrian artists and bands. Some more international stars are Shakin’ Stevens, Phil Collins, Sunrise Avenue, Status Quo, Robby Williams, Michael Bolton, and I saw Michael Jackson twice. Then I saw the Three Tenors (Placido Domingo, José Carreras, Luciano Pavarotti).

    • Erika, great list as well. I would have loved to seen Michael Jackson and Phil Collins. There is a great documentary on the concert preparation for a concert that Michael Jackson never gave. The dancers, musicians, back-up singers, designers, directors, etc. had been preparing for about two months before he died. Keith

      • I know about a documentary about this “This is it”-Show. Extremely elaborate and costly, perfection it every little detail… who would have thought…

  3. Now I feeling a bit outside looking in! My first concert was about two hundred years ago—a very popular guy back then named Carl Smith! Eventually I grew up and saw The New Christy Minstrels, James Taylor, Peter, Paul and Mary, and John Denver. Being a church musician, most of the concerts attended for years after that were Joe Wise, and the people who were writing the music we played in church. My sister and I were doing a few concerts of our own locally back then and we attended other local concerts as well.

  4. Great list, Keith! You’re invited to read my post, “Keep On Rockin'”, from Sept. 21, 2021, where I list the artists I’ve been fortunate to see in person, who I liked best and why. You’re right; you can’t beat live music!

  5. Note to Readers: A couple I forgot to mention are Gordon Lightfoot and Billy Joel, two of the best songwriters ever. Both put on memorable concerts and shared stories along the way.

  6. What a trip down music’s memory lane. I knew most of the bands and artists you mentioned but have seen Ac/Dc before they were famous and just struggling Australian yobbos! Saw the unforgettable Eric Clapton with Derek Trucks who captivated even more than Eric at some points in the performance with his incredible guitar talent. But I am not Really one for going to concerts all though many of my friends enjoy doing so on a regular basis I just can’t justify the ridiculous ticket prices they charge here, all though it was definitely worth the $300 price tag to see Eric Clapton more than a decade ago.
    Sorry to hear of your friend. I hope he pulls through.

    • Amanda, thanks. They have priced the tickets out of the market. Thanks for your remarks on my friend, but as this was an old post, he has passed. When he first invited us to hear his band, I did not expect what we saw. He was a former professional musician who can play the keyboards. Keith

    • Lisa, please enjoy. When you go watch for the multiple generations of fans there – you will see grandmother, mother and daughter combinations, e.g. Be safe. Keith

  7. Note to Readers: I have shared this before, but when Billy Joel performed, he has so many songs, on three occasions, he asked the audience to pick between two songs for the next number. I wish he had played the other three, but it shows how prolific a songwriter he was. As for Elvis Costello, he had this large wheel about twelve feet in diameter. with his playlist. He would have someone come from the audience to spin the wheel for the next song. He only vetoed one pick as saved that for his encore. Keith

  8. That’s an impressive list. I’ve only seen three of those but have seen many other big names and I also like to see lesser and up and coming artists. I’m glad to say I’m back watching live gigs and it’s wonderful. Hope you get back to gigs soon. I saw Steely Dan and Steve Winwood in Manchester, England and I recommend that gig. Donald Fagin’s voice is not wearing well, unlike Winwood’s but still a fun, quality night out!

    • Paul, thanks for comment and recommendation. I hope we can see the two this summer on their combined tour. Who are some of the others you have seen? Keith

      • I hope you get there Keith. Others I have seen apart from McCartney, Winwood, Steely Dan and Elton John include (Rock and Prog Rock first) Genesis, Phil Collins, Yes, ELP, Soft Machine, Brand X, Roxy Music, Robert Plant, Jethro Tull, Foo Fighters, Santana, Idlewild. (Jazzy stuff next) Snarky Puppy, Submotion Orchestra, Buster Brown, Nubiyan Twist, I saw some big American soul bands around 70-72. Also seen a few famous English folk artists. I regret never seeing Led Zeppelin, Depeche Mode, Smashing Pumpkins and Pink Floyd.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.