Threat to our own country – short letter to the editor

I sent this in to my local paper. If you like this, please feel free to adapt and use. Fingers crossed on whether they print it.

As an Independent and former GOP voter, the untruthful and bullying bents of the president are bothersome. His mishandling of COVID-19 which continues has harmed Americans. But, seeing a US president make several efforts to derail confidence in the voting process and endorse white supremacists are beyond the pale. The FBI arrested thirteen people plotting to kidnap the Michigan governor and these groups are emboldened by this president’s lack of criticism and tongue-in-cheek support. I truly never thought I would see a US president be a threat to our own country. Taking this president at his word is not only a fool’s errand, it is dangerous.

PS – Different subject, which I covered recently. This morning’s opening remarks by Senator Lindsey Graham to discredit the ACA made me ill they were so misleading. In short, he said the ACA is not working for South Carolinians as more money goes to three states. He did not say SC did NOT expand Medicaid, so that money goes elsewhere. And, he did NOT say, that more premiums subsidies go to three states as they have larger populations and, of course, get more subsidies. They also pay more taxes. This is an example of misleading people and why folks like Graham and Trump need to be voted out.

Here is a link to piece I wrote two weeks ago.

Just a quick refresher on the ACA animosity in the Republican Party

9 thoughts on “Threat to our own country – short letter to the editor

  1. Excellent short letter, Keith! I will adapt and send to the Cincinnati Enquirer, though they rarely print my letters. Thanks! And yes, Graham is a grade-A jerk who tells only one side of any story … apparently he is joined at the hip to Trump.

  2. Note to Readers: My local paper ran an edited version of my letter this morning. Here it is:

    Never thought I’d see this in a US president

    The untruthful and bullying bent of the president are bothersome, and his mishandling of COVID-19 has harmed Americans.

    But, seeing a U.S. president make several efforts to derail confidence in the voting process and seeing him refuse to condemn white supremacists are beyond the pale.

    The FBI arrested 13 people plotting to kidnap the Michigan governor. Groups like this are emboldened by this president’s lack of criticism and tongue-in-cheek support.

    I truly never thought I would see a U.S. president be a threat to our own country. Taking this president at his word is not only a fool’s errand, it is dangerous.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.