It is up to us

Since our elected officials seem to be too concerned with zero-sum games where one must win and the other lose in this childish age of tribal politics, it is truly up to us to demand better from them. We need leaders to be among our better angels, not our worse demons. If they cannot tell us the truth, then they need to step aside.

All politicians will lie to embellish their roles in anything good, and blame the other side for anything bad, but they give themselves too much credit for influence. Yet, we have one party, in particular, whom a conservative pundit named Michael Gerson said is in “decay” because it is untethered to the truth and lawfulness. Republicans cannot vilify their truth tellers and exalt their liars and be taken seriously. Democrats are not perfect, but at least they are trying to address real issues and not contrived ones to garner votes.

I am an independent voter who has been a member of both parties. I am long past weary of this BS. Regardless of party, we cannot have a former president perpetuate a lie he has failed miserably at proving and then incite an insurrection on another branch of government. America was already at odds with itself, but the chasm is greater because a person with a fragile ego is not man enough to admit he lost an election. As his niece said, “my uncle will burn it all down to avoid losing the election.” And, people admire the former president? Really?

It used to be believed that a lead buck would lead the pack of deer to where they needed to go. Studies have shown that the pack of deer will actually make decisions to move based on perceived threats or opportunities. The buck will just follow along. We are the deer and politicians are the bucks. We must lead them out of harm’s way, which is a way of saying we need to save them from themselves.

19 thoughts on “It is up to us

      • The beer-and-tv Russian supporters of Putin are called nudniks, so I’ve been told. We have our own nudniks who help to sustain the worst of these idiots. Not sure how to address that.

  1. How can you trust a party that covers for a president (or anyone else, for that matter) who clearly prefers lies to the truth? Over here we have several parties and I am glad about that. I don’t think that I voted for the same parties more than two times, mostly only once.

  2. Michael Gerson may say that the Republican party is in “decay” (and I’ve heard variations of that sentiment from others) but they seem to be shoring up their ability to win elections. Unfortunately, I don’t see any evidence the decay is hurting them and that – anytime soon – saner members of their party will prevail. In fact, the sane members appear to be jumping ship in droves, leaving the rats in control of the vessel… and, maybe soon, our country.

    • Janis, good points. For lack of a better description, the Republicans are better at messaging and deceiving its audience. So, it takes an effort to dissuade the more rigid base. If people care about climate change, health care and civil rights, they need to get out and vote against Republicans who don’t have good answers to these issues. Keith

  3. I really like the deer analogy, Keith. I’m … beyond depressed, for I see no good outcome, though I wish I did. A couple of my readers have said I need to do more than use my words, my platform, that I need to “really fight”, but … I don’t know how to do that anymore. How do you fight people who intentionally misconstrue what you say, who know they are perpetuating lie after lie, but are in too deep to back out without ‘losing face’? And with our voting rights on the auction block in so many states … where is the Supreme Court when we need them? Oh yeah … in the clutches of Kavanaugh, Barrett, and Thomas’ wife. Sigh.

    • Jill, thanks. It is depressing, but we must point out as many facts as we can. You have a good example of someone who has commandeered one of your posts, that you simply cannot get through to with push back. I tried a few minutes ago and I will see where that leads. Bill Maher calls it the “bubble” where you just cannot penetrate it to get to these strident folks. Yet, the folks we need to try to speak with are the ones who are at least willing to listen. This person is not willing to listen. On the other hand, I would not retort with the same tone as it just bounces back. Keith

      • Oh yes … Ms. Pisturino … I’ve considered blocking her comments from this point forward, for she is rude and as you say, she doesn’t even listen to what we have to say. I just read your comment to her and was very pleased … you pointed out facts that cannot be disputed … we’ll see what she has to say, but I’m not holding my breath for anything logical. I’d love to find a pin that would burst that “bubble” Maher refers to. Unfortunately, I tend to respond in kind, letting anger speak before my brain has a chance to kick in. WHY do I keep doing that? Roger and I have had this conversation many a time, for he is much like me, and we both consider you are gold standard, we try to be more like you but often we fail.

      • Jill, many thanks. I understand the frustration. But, folks who have fewer facts on their side want a mud fight. The former president is most scared when someone armed with facts asks him questions because it put him in a corner. He would much prefer a name calling argument, not a debate, which is a key reason he has made the GOP back out of the debates. Keith

  4. This is the clarion call I’ve been waiting to hear from the US Keith.
    The current gang masking as Republicans may have an momentum going, but theirs is a brittle sort as it does not unite. And you cannot hope the govern the USA as it stands without a measure of unity across the various divides.

    • Roger, we must keep the pressure on. I did see there is a book coming out that both Kevin McCarthy and Mitch McConnell blamed the former president, rightfully so, for the insurrection. They both said they had enough of him. But, this was early on after the insurrection. McCarthy has already succumbed to the will of the former president and McConnell is trying to play both sides against the middle as is his modus operandi. Political courage is a term that is not top of mind to define either person. Keith

  5. Note to Readers: Please encourage people to write letters to legislators and newspapers, but most of all encourage them to vote. Know the rules that have been revised to deny voting rights and make sure you vote. The Republican Party does not have answers or even address issues like climate change, environmental degradation, civil rights restrictions, health care access, better gun governance, etc. In fact, the GOP is even causing some of these problems to garner votes. We need better. We deserve better.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.