Please consider my request – note to JD Vance

I sent the following note yesterday to JD Vance who is running for Senate in Ohio as a MAGA Republican. Please feel free to adapt and use.

Mr. Vance, I am an independent and former Republican and Democrat voter. I have read your excellent book “Hillbilly Elegy” and have recommended it to others. Yet, I have great difficulty reconciling the tenets of the person who wrote this book with someone who advocates for a former president who, in my view, has betrayed his oath to the constitution and represents policies that are harmful to most Republicans and Americans.

It disappoints me to see my former party obligate its main followers to support bogus election fraud claims by the former president which led to an insurrection against members of Congress, while it denigrates its truth tellers. Conservative pundit Michael Gerson says the Republican Party is in decay. I agree with this statement. We need a viable Conservative party in our country, but this vintage is not it.

I beseech you to help rectify this ship. The GOP must start telling the truth. We have serious problems in our country and need serious minded people. We need you to return to the tenets of the man who served his country and wrote that book and no longer kowtow to those whose currency is untruthfulness. It is not becoming of a military veteran who swore an oath to defend our constitution.

14 thoughts on “Please consider my request – note to JD Vance

  1. I also have read Hillbilly Elegy. After finishing it, I had hoped that Vance had cured himself of the problems that he wrote about. I take his senate candidacy as a serious relapse.

    • VJ, it is highly disappointing. His book spoke of how he was successful because of three constants in his life who gave him structure and encouragement – his grandmother, his platoon leader and his future wife. To see him align himself with the embodiment of selfish behavior just does not seem right or consistent. Keith

  2. Excellent letter, Keith. We speak, but do they listen? You were much nicer than I was in my letter to him a month or so ago. His book, “Hillbilly Elegy”, was fiction … what you see today is who he really is. Coincidentally, we received one of his ads in the mail today telling more lies about his opponent, Tim Ryan.

    • Jill, when candidates support The Big Lie, little lies are much easier to exploit. It is akin to an adulterous spouse covering up an affair, so small offshoot lies are easy to use. Keith

  3. Note to Readers: I saw where one more in Trump’s orbit (Mark Meadows) is refusing to testify in the Georgia election meddling case, but a judge is ordering him to do so. Between him and Senator Lindsey Graham, there is a lot of quivering under the covers going on. Now, tell me again who the snowflakes are?

  4. Note to Readers: As I never served in the military, I cannot honestly say what a veteran might think. But, for some reason, I would think a person like the former president should be highly offensive to someone who took an oath to the constitution. Between the lying and seditious actions, the comments about a captured soldier not being a war hero and bullying of people who disagree, I just think his actions would offend. Again, I did not serve, so I cannot say this from experience.

  5. I didn’t share your admiration for Hillbilly Elegy, Keith. I felt it showed Vance’s hypocrisy from the get-go. The very government services that enabled his family to survive and helped him move up in life have formed the basis then and now for his contempt and ridicule. And anyone who could make the comments he made about women needing to stay in violent marriages for the sake of their children is unlikely to be moved by your polite missive. Nevertheless, I greatly respect your continuing efforts to reach these apparent unreachables.

  6. Pingback: Daily Kind Quote – 5060 – Share Your Light

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.