Leadership is missing – here are key reasons why

I have written often about the dearth of leadership, not just in the US, but worldwide. It is so concerning, I often go out of my way to use the phrase about someone “in a leadership position.” I do this as I cannot bring myself to call an incumbent who defames the role on a daily basis “a leader.”

I ran across a short and simple quote that popped up in my Linked In feed.

The first rule of leadership: put your mission above your ego.

The second rule of leadership: if you don’t care about your people, they won’t care about your mission.

The third rule of leadership: if someone has to tell you the first two rules, you are not ready to lead yet.

Adam Grant on Linked In.

Think of these rules of leadership. Everyone has an ego and those who want to be leaders have even larger ones. When they put themselves above their mission, that is not leadership. That is self-serving.

Leaders also lead people. And, no matter how much they beat on their chest, they cannot serve people alone, so they need help. If incumbents treat people on their team poorly, these people will not be able to help whom the incumbents lead. It is that simple.

Too many of our politicians worry more about keeping their job, than doing their job. Too many business leaders do the same thing. For publicly traded companies, it is a key reason they focus so much on making their quarterly numbers. Rather than manage for longer horizons, they manage quarter to quarter.

I have used many other quotes about leadership that say the above in different ways. But, just focusing on the second rule, take care of your people – they see it. If you do not, they will vote with their feet.

18 thoughts on “Leadership is missing – here are key reasons why

  1. Wow, I love your three rules. They make even more obvious how mature someone must be to take that task. I think this only works, when the person is clear about the fact, that it is not a decoration for their bio but THE task, responsibility, and obligation of their lives.

  2. You only have to look at our Prime Minister to see the truth in this: Johnson is a triumph of ambition over ability, totally unfit to run a bath, let alone a country.

    • Clive, I agree. He misses Trump, who makes Johnson look better by comparison. The best indication is the pro-Brexit campaign did not want Johnson’s involvement. Keith

      • He chose the pro-Brexit stance as being best for his career, despite often speaking and writing against it previously. No morals, no scruples, a complete chancer whose personal ambitions are being shown to be ever more damaging for the country. Yet people still like him and vote for him: morons!

      • Clive, I was unaware of the previous stance. That does not paint him in a good light and is in keeping with his modus operandi. Keith

  3. Note to Readers: I have written before the comment of a leadership consultant who I introduced to my clients. He said a good leader is accountable for his or her mistakes, assuming more of the blame even when it is not due. He or she also deflects credit to others on his or her team. I have seen many a bad leader throw people under the bus to avoid scrutiny or take credit for their successes.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.