Humor abounds in all relationships

We have been watching several Rom-Com movies where relationship humor between the lead characters seasons what would be a dry movie plot. Just yesterday, in the movie “Sleeping with other people,” the main, opposite gender characters (played by Jason Sudekis and Alison Brie) became best friends. If they ever had romantic feelings for each other, they would say the word “mousetrap” to stop those thoughts. That is a neat ploy.

It got me thinking about humor in all kinds of relationships – partners, friends, relatives, etc. I won’t repeat several stories that I have written about a few times before, but here are a few I have not.

Make sure the door can lock – when I moved to a new city, I was in a temporary apartment before we sold our house. When my family was visiting, the kids slept on a sleeper sofa, while my wife and I were in the lone bedroom. During, shall we say a romantic interlude, in walks my oldest son who was about seven and he said an audible “ooh” and left the room. Note to self, make sure the bedroom door can actually lock.

Old dogs can be taught – having learned the above lesson, we went on vacation and stayed in an old lake house, whose bedroom door would not fully shut and lock. Part of our foreplay was made to include placing a chair in front of the door to keep it from opening.

Yes, your parents had sex after you were born – growing up, my parents’ bedroom was adjacent to my brother’s and mine. Since my bed was on the nearest wall to theirs, it enabled me to hear things a boy probably should not hear in the room next door. Yes, my parents had sex after I was born; I am sure they enjoyed it.

Speaking of discovery – some good friends were visiting her mother and father and were sleeping in the guest room downstairs. After one of those romantic interludes, in walks the husband’s mother-in-law. It should be noted my friend is in bed, sans clothing, with one leg positioned outside of the covers. His mother-in-law sits on the bed while they are talking and starts to pat his leg and pats it again. Then, it hits her what has just transpired and she gets wide-eyed and immediately leaves the room. See number one about locking bedroom doors.

Invariably, kids will walk through when the movie gets racy – with one adult-child staying with us since the pandemic staying upstairs when home, he will occasionally walk through our main TV area to go the kitchen. Often, if our movie has a racy scene come on the screen, that is when he walks through the room. My wife and I will say to each other “I thought this was PG-13.” That and the surprise “f-bombs” that are used in movies cause some parental cringing. He will say, “it is nothing I have not heard before.”

Yes, a squeaky bed can be heard downstairs – when we travel, we often stay in a bed and breakfast which is usually an old house. At one place, we learned, after the fact, our bedroom and another was above the downstairs parlor. The reason we know there was another bedroom is the guests were having one of those romantic interludes as we had done earlier. And, we heard the squeaky bed while sitting in the parlor below. Oops. Our bed was squeaky as well.

When it rains it pours – staying at another bed and breakfast, we arrived during a torrential rainstorm. Our room was in the back of the home with an elevated poster bed which needed a stepping stool to get into. It also was underneath a veranda with a partially covered roof accessible by the second-floor rooms. Since this story is about romantic interludes, when we were about to Christen the poster bed, we saw rain leaking down the wall. This was a few seconds before the ceiling caved in from the rain on top of us. After getting dressed and letting the owners know of our travails, we were moved to another room across the hall, but it had water running down the walls as well. So, we ended up in a third room.

So, the moral to this story is not to avoid having romantic interludes. The moral is lock or block the bedroom door, test the squeakiness of the beds, and watch out for B&B poster beds in rainstorms. And, yes your parents did these kinds of things as well and enjoyed them. As for those movies, don’t trust a PG-13 rating.

13 thoughts on “Humor abounds in all relationships

  1. Oh Keith! LOL!! Too funny. My son once asked his sister to trade rooms with him. Apparently his room was too close to ours and he heard things at night. It is hilarious how children do not want to to think about their parents having “romantic interludes.” 🙂

    • Joy, thanks. Great story. It is funny, it wasn’t until my parents added a bathroom to our room and switched rooms with my brother and me, did the nighttime noises become more audible. Keith

  2. Oh Keith, I really enjoyed this blog today, my blogging has taken a bit of back seat over the summer months as I have had a lot going on but Im so glad I read this today. It made me giggle and I can certainly think of a few similar ‘romantic moments’ that were disturbed for one reason or another!

    • Thanks Alison. I think each of us have a few moments that we can laugh about now (or then).

      You just reminded me about a scene from “Four seasons” starring Alan Alda, Carol Burnett, Rita Moreno et al about three couples who decided to vacation together each of the four seasons. In the summer, they took a sailboat trip and one of the couples had split up, but the husband brought his new girlfriend. The humor was their friskiness could be heard throughout the boat, so Burnett tried to distract her husband with a boring financial story as the sounds came through the wall. It was quite funny.

      Keith

  3. Note to Readers: While this story is not related to a romantic interlude, my wife tells the story of when she woke up in the middle of the night with me standing on the bed. Apparently, I had a dream that I was surrounded by snakes. Must have been that Indiana Jones’ movie that precipitated it. Kind of gave her more of a fright than me.

  4. Note to Readers II: I think I may have shared this story in one of my dating humor posts, but I dated a woman who loved to put on Barry White music when she was feeling romantic. Must be that deep voice or maybe it was the lyrics or both. My wife gets a kick out of that story.

    However, her favorite story I told her is when I had to sneak out of a girlfriend’s house, but did not know she had a horse in a pasture near the driveway. The horse snorted when I was sheepishly opening my car at 2 am. If I had to go, I would have. I think I leapt two feet in the air.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.