A few sayings to help us through the day

Here a few sayings that I have picked up along the way. Please feel free to offer some of yours that who add some relish to this grouping.

Have you ever felt like the whole world is a tuxedo and you’re just a pair of old brown shoes? (George Goebbels)

I have noticed the more I practice, the luckier I get. (Gary Player)

Opportunity is often missed as it is dressed up as hard work. (Malcolm Gladwell)

I have noticed common sense is not all that common. (Mark Twain)

A man will never be shot while doing the dishes. (Unknown)

More shots are missed because they are never taken. (Unknown)

If you always tell the truth, you don’t have to remember as much. (Unknown)

We tend to spend more practice on what we do well and less on what we don’t. It should be the other way around. (Harvey Penick)

No is just an answer. Don’t be afraid of hearing it. (Unknown)

I took the last shot because I knew I could handle missing it. (Jim Furyk)

You cannot have too many cups of coffee with people. It is my fault should not be a frightening thing to say. (a friend and colleague)

Don’t ever be surprised when an ego-centric person turns on you. It will happen. (Unknown)

People should get more credit for doing the right thing than going along with the crowd. (Unknown)

Paying it forward may be the most selfless of gifts. The gift of your time is the best thing you can do for your kids. (Unknown)

The greatest lights in our community or family are the people who always visit or help when it is needed. (Unknown)

Helping people climb a ladder out of the hole they dug is better than just pulling them up. If they climb it, they may avoid digging a new one. (a friend and social worker)

You have two ears and one mouth, use them in that proportion. (an old boss)

15 thoughts on “A few sayings to help us through the day

      • This was my boss’ father, but it sounds like it would fit into a Marvin Gaye’s “What’s going on?” Many of his father’s sayings were quite colorful. “My daddy told me not to pee down someone’s leg, but don’t let him pee down yours either” is a good example. Keith

      • Thanks for the clarification. I usually think of Gladys Knight when I hear that song, although Marvin Gaye gave it a new feel. I had forgotten that lyric. Thanks for the connection.

  1. A feast of the wise and humorous.
    Thanks Keith.
    (I’ll add one for sports fans….Inspired by two supporters of Aston Villa soccer team off to one of their common less than perfect starts of the season …..’It could always be worse, you know,’)

    • Too funny. You reminded me of the then expansion NFL team the Tampa Bay Buccaneers that lost every game its first year and its first twelve the second year. It then won its first game and, surprisingly, won its second the next week. The headline read “Ho-hum, another victory.”

      • In Villa’s case that headline would be ‘Birmingham Hospitals report increase in admissions of hysteria’ 😆
        Next to be supporters of a team in ascendancy, there is something heroic about those stick with their team no matter how bad they are.

      • Roger, so true. People gravitate toward a winner, so those loyal folks stick with them when winning proves difficult. I like you headline regarding hysteria. Keith

  2. Note to Readers II: A person who has to tell you how great they are at something may be in the minority of that opinion. (Unknown).

    Corollary – You’ve been telling me you are a genius since you were seventeen. In all this time I have known you, I still don’t know what you mean. (Steely Dan)

    • Janis, I truly love that one. We were watching a show just last night where a young girl did that very thing. It happens too often, doesn’t it? Keith

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.