Have a safe and enjoyable holidays

For those who celebrate, please have a Merry Christmas. For those who do not (and those who do), please have a safe and enjoyable holiday season. Christianity is an important religion, but it is only one of several, so a blanket Merry Christmas statement may or may not be well received, even if well-intended.

Either way, time away from work should be spent with friends and family. Yet, the holiday season is a time when those who do not have others will be even more despondent or depressed. Even more so, the holidays will be a time when loved ones who have passed (or left or are in harm’s way) are missed. So, please share your home or celebration with others.

My mother passed away early Christmas morning in 2016. To me, as devout a woman as she was, it was fitting for her to pass away when Christians celebrate Jesus’ birth. My wife, brother, sister and I will always remember her passing this day. Not ironically, my mother-in-law passed away just after Christmas. Like my mother, she was a devout woman. So, we will remember her well this season.

Let me close out with a bit of humor, which is indicative of non-Christians remembering the holiday in their own way. When Elena Kagan was being vetted by the Senate for the Supreme Court, she handled a question meant to highlight that she was Jewish. Its purpose was unclear, but the following was asked in a mid-December hearing. “Judge Kagan, how will you be celebrating Christmas this week?”

Her response was priceless. “Senator, I will be eating at a Chinese restaurant like all Jewish people do.” It received a laugh even from the asker and diffused its uncertain intent with aplomb.

Being with family and friends. Sharing a meal. Remembering those not with us. Happy holidays everyone. And, travel safely. Following distance is our friend.

6 thoughts on “Have a safe and enjoyable holidays

  1. Have a wonderful Christmas, Keith. Losing loved ones at anytime is difficult, but it can be even harder when a death occurs around a holiday. I love how you turned your loss into fond remembrances.

    Interesting side note: I just read an article in the NY Times about how many Chinese restaurants are going out of business. The owners, who immigrated and opened a restaurant, are getting older and their children don’t want to take over the business. I can’t say that I blame the kids – running a restaurant is not for the faint-of-heart – but I’m sad to know that this happening.

    • Janis, many thanks for your kind remarks. I was unaware of the Chinese restaurant closures. The people that run our favorite are moving slower. Take care. Keith

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.