Friday memories

Since I am exhausted from talking about our modern day Voldemort, let me offer a few random memories on this Friday, Greenwich time. In no particular order:

When my father used to cook chicken on the grill, he would always return to the kitchen with a wingless chicken. When asked, he noted said chicken could not fly as it had no wings. Of course, he would eat the wings outside to make sure he got the basting right, at least that was his ultimate story.

When he smoked meat in his Cooking Cajun smoker, he would cook a ham on one rack and a turkey on another. The poor cook would start the large turkey around 2 am in the morning and then add the ham later. I wish I had his knack for smoking it right. He did say he basted the turkey with mayonnaise to keep it moist. Whatever he did, both were excellent.

My mother was a terrific cook as well, so these meals were accentuated with her casseroles, side dishes and desserts. One of her wonderful dishes was a layered salad, which must be served in a glass bowl to see the layers of lettuce, cheese, mostly thawed frozen green peas, mayonnaise (we southerners love our mayo), bacon and green onion. She also had a fruit pie made with fresh strawberries and bananas.

My mother was an Education and Home Economics major in college, so she would plan out our meals for two weeks between paychecks. Pot roast, fried chicken, cubed steak, spaghetti, lasagna, ham steaks with limas and cheese, etc. were usually in the mix. Back then, she went to the grocery store once in two weeks. Think about the planning behind that statement. We did not make runs to the grocer as we do now, with the exception of fresh milk which we got from a nearby dairy store you could actually drive up to.

With three kids who all played sports, we liked to eat and ate a lot. So, my mother keeping the refrigerator full shopping once every two weeks was a chore. One of the wisest things my high school did was, if you played sports, you automatically took PE in the last class of the day, so we could start practicing early. With a full load of classes in the preceding years, I found a free period for lunch in my Senior year, so I would eat at home and return for practice. So, more food was needed to fill this growing boy’s body. Did I mention I ate a lot?

When I got home, I would do my studying at night. So, my brother, sister and I would watch the reruns of Star Trek, Dick Van Dyke, Andy Griffith, I Love Lucy, The Wild West, etc., before and just after dinner. With one TV, we all watched the same thing. I must confess, the love interests of Captain Kirk and James West were fascinating to this adolescent boy. And, it did not dawn on me, at first, the comedic genius of Don Knotts as Barney Fife and Lucille Ball as Lucy. I would get irritated with how silly they were, but realized later that was their gift.

Well, that is enough for memory lane. I had a good childhood, not perfect mind you, as I have left off my parents’ fighting, but it was largely good memories. I have written before about my father’s drinking problem (which I inherited), but he was still a good man, who just had a problem. He was sober the last twenty years of his life and I have been without a drink for over thirteen years.

20 thoughts on “Friday memories

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip down your memory lane, Keith! Such a breath of fresh air after the topics we have both been immersed in of late. Your childhood sounds great … sounds normal! And your parents were obviously good parents, for they raised a son who turned into a fine man.

  2. What means perfect, right? I think everybody has those thorns from the past still sticking somewhere. But what a blessing it is to also have those memories that fill our hearts with happiness and our eyes with healing water. Most of all when those memories prevail. Thank you for sharing your memories, Keith.

    • Hugh, many thanks. I hope you are well. I have a sense you needed to back away from the blood pressure raising political events. I thought of you when Petersironwood wrote a blog about team work and started with tennis doubles. Keith

      Here is a link: It does get into politics at the end.

      BOUNCE!!

  3. Great observation about the humor of Don Knotts and Lucy Arnez. Back in the day I think most families spent less time shopping and did more of it on fewer days. I’m curious, did your mom have a freezer to store meats and leftovers in? I love the salad trifle!

    • Linda, we did not have an extra freezer, so she must have been quite organized. I did learn later my mother had some OCD issues, as she was highly organized. After she passed, going into her closet to select an outfit for her to wear, revealed such. I had my phone out with my wife back home helping me choose a few selections. Keith

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.