Mental health spending on the rise

From a recent article in Benefits Pro, which is a recurring newsletter for benefit professionals:

“Overall spending on mental health services increased from 6.8% to 8.2% between 2013 and 2020, according to a new study published by the Employee Benefit Research Institute (EBRI).

Approximately 1 in 5 adults and 1 in 6 youth experience mental illness each year, and these rates have been rising,’ Paul Fronstin, director of EBRI’s Health Benefits Research and co-author of the study, says in a statement. ‘Over 20 million Americans have a substance use disorder.

The COVID-19 pandemic has exacerbated mental health issues nationally and in the workplace. With increases in both the number of individuals diagnosed with mental health disorders and use of health care services, higher spending is of great concern to plan sponsors of health benefit programs.'”

This trend has been supported by other sources of information, especially as it relates to the impact from the pandemic. When I traveled around with a Behavioral Psychologist who would help our corporate clients set-up mental health programs around depression and obesity management, mental wellness help-lines, etc., she would cite a statistic that 1 in 5 adults would have some form of depression in their lifetime. That is now a dated statistic, as the above surveys cites 1 in 5 per year.

Her main thrust is people who are battling depression to any degree should get counseling. She hated to see anti-depression medicine prescribed by general practitioners, as that just helped with the depression not get at the cause and management. If you know of anyone who is experiencing depression, please encourage them to seek counseling.

There is no shame in getting help from someone qualified to give it. This also goes for other disorders that someone might be dealing with – substance abuse, anxiety, paranoia, OCD, schizoid personality disorder, PTSD, etc. It is not uncommon for someone to have multiple diagnoses. And, I include PTSD, as one need not be in battle to experience post-traumatic stress disorder, as homeless mothers and kids or victims of domestic violence will tend to have PTSD issues as well.

17 thoughts on “Mental health spending on the rise

  1. Many, many years ago I sought counseling resulting from an extremely unpleasant situation at my employment (I later resigned) … and can vouch for the help it provided me.

    It’s unfortunate that some feel that seeking mental health treatment is a sign of weakness because it can, quite literally, save lives.

  2. Once we poisoned ourselves with the physical toxic output of our factories and cities. Now we are doing the same to our minds with the pressures our advances and social trends have created.
    Maybe it was always this way, but now the obviousness of the misery and painful uncertainties people feel grow exponentially.
    By good fortune, family, aid and medication (small stuff) and enough experience to learn to get out of the way of the oncoming danger my own issues have been minimised to mere grouchy quirks.
    Pity help those truly suffering and preyed on by those out to make a ‘quick buck’ for themselves.

    • Roger, thanks for your thoughts and experiences. One of the sad truths about being always connected is you are always working. The stress is much more significant than it used to be. I am old enough to recall the first fax machines. They hastened the expectation of a reply, even though the same amount of work went into the answer. That added stress. Keith

      • Quite so Keith.
        In the related topic of ordering goods I don’t know how it was in the USA, but in the UK there was a general expect delivery within 28 days. Now folk raise an eyebrow if they have to wait 7 days.
        The pace of expectations has speeded up.
        There was an old staying about Expecting The Apple Before The Tree. (maybe it’s just me, but I can’t find a reference to that on the internet- lots of advice on growing fruit trees though)

  3. It is so important to wait not too long. It doesn’t get better only worse. I made a similar experience. I had panic and anxiety attacks for years. I thought I go nuts and said to myself that I have my tools and I will get through it. But one day I realized that it was not my mental condition in the first place but the hormones. If I had not talked about it, I would not have figured it out. Today, I am so much better and life has a newly gain quality that I treasure even more since I know the difference.

  4. Note to Readers: I truly appreciate all the words of wisdom from readers who have had to deal with issues. It provides a brief glimpse at how many folks are affected and hopefully will encourage people to get help.

    I have a relative who is multi-diagnosed with various issues. The relative is able to manage the conditions with good counseling and medication working a part-time job. Before, the relative had counsel who was not very helpful focusing too much on religious guidance and less on practical guidance. It was not until a more practical counselor got involved until strides were made. I think trying on counselors that work for you is important.

  5. An important post! Yes, there is no shame at all needing counseling! Like I tell my daughter if you have a broken bone you fix it. You do what you can to make it better.
    Same thing wifh your brain. You do what you can to make things better. Ifs just another part of the body that sometumes needs help.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.