Using your best toddler voice, say with me

Like many Americans and non-Americans, we are long past weary of the relentless lying and posturing words and actions of the former president. To me, long before he ran for president he was not known for truth telling. In fact, as Rick Reilly said in his book “Who’s your caddy?” about his stories caddying for golf pros and celebrities about twenty years ago, “Donald Trump cheats at golf right in front of you.” He makes no bones about.

That is as good a metaphor for his routine sales schtick he uses to mislead the American people. His lying and cheating are OVERT. He does it right in front of you. And, it is his modus operandi learned over many years of practice. In fact, in Cassidy Hutchinson’s book “Enough,” she said Trump did not mind being called a liar – he minds being called a loser.

Yet, when caught in a lie, sin or crime, we know it is never his fault. His mantra is to deflect blame or accuse someone else. His excuses are very much like a toddler’s when his hands are found in a cookie jar with crumbs on his face. So, in your best toddler voice mimic Trump’s excuses:

”I didn’t do it.”

“They just don’t like me!”

“They don’t want me to win.”

”They stole it from me. I won by a long shot!”

“It is all unfair. I didn’t do anything wrong.”

”She’s not my type.

”I didn’t sleep with her.”

Now, repeat them again honing your best toddler voice. This is what Trump sounds like to me when he offers his tiresome excuses. As for his sycophants and spineless rationalizers, I need to figure out a voice for them. I am thinking of a bully’s yes men (or should I say boys?) on the playground. They are around until someone punches the bully in the nose and he whimpers away. In Trump’s case, it is usually a strong and intelligent woman who does the punching.

These women get vilified for speaking the truth to the former president. Yet, they are like his Mommy saying now Donald, tell me the truth – you did eat the cookies, didn’t you? Now, wipe the crumbs from your face.

11 thoughts on “Using your best toddler voice, say with me

    • Joni, my hope is portaying his whining rebuttals as such, more people will see exactly what these excuses are. While I am not a fan of former Republican VP Dick Cheney, in print he called Donald Trump a “coward” for lying to his fans. Keith

      • I get it. After a while I just have to laugh at how ridiculous he and his followers sound. Putting it in the voice of a toddler was just too funny.

      • Thanks Joni. I toggle between the toddler and original cartoon version of the Queen of Hearts in “Alice in Wonderland.”

  1. Note to Readers: I get tickled by some of the lies of the former president. He now says he did not sleep with these two women where hush money was paid. Yet, one thing is for certain about the former president – he is cheap. He likes using other people’s money rather than his own. For example, he was found liable and had to repay $1.6 million of donor money to his Trump Foundation for charity.

    Yet, even Trump is too cheap to use other people’s money to pay off Stormy Daniels and the National Enquirer to “catch and kill” the story about his more lengthy affair with Karen McDougal (sic). He would want to put that money in his pocket. So, to now say he did not sleep with them is just untrue.

    By the way, when I see he wants to testify, my reaction is “please do.” I am reminded of an attorney who said in a sworn deposition, he got Trump to change his answers 30 times to avoid perjury. So, please testify Mr. Trump.

  2. Note to Readers II: I am reminded of the movie “The man who shot Liberty Valance” starring Jimmy Stewart, John Wayne and Lee Marvin. Valance was a gunslinging criminal bully with two yes men that accompanied him. Once Valance was killed, his two yes men were raising a ruckus in a bar calling for murder charges. John Wayne’s character took their guns from their hands and knocked both to the floor telling the Marshall to “get this scum out of here.”

    I believe once Trump’s air comes out of his balloon, the more rational Republicans will take out these yes people, some who traveled to New York to support their liege. It would be comical if they cited John Wayne’s movie character.

    • Linda, I cannot speak to that. It is a fair hypothesis. I don’t know much about his mother. I did read his father would not let him sign anything while he was involved the business. Keith

  3. Sigh. For a time, it was comical, almost humorous. Then it got annoying. And now it is just downright disgusting, sickening. That people still applaud and cheer this little spoiled brat in a grown (overgrown) male body is beyond belief. I no longer listen to what he says, for whatever he says, I know it will be a lie. Send him back to the kindergarten room and let’s start over with only adults allowed into the government.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.