A Monday morning after Christmas

Since I rise early, after feeding the dog and letting him outside, I can settle down with a cup of coffee and shadowy morning serenity to catch up on posts and post the words for a new day. While Christmas was enjoyable to a small degree, we have continuing concern after my oldest son came in contact with an “unannounced” COVID infected person. He is feeling poorly (although he said the Mucinex is helping with congestion),but did test negative on a less than accurate test. He is awaiting the more detailed test results, which have been held up by the holidays and will likely test again later in the week.

Fortunately, he has had the first two vaccines, yet is scheduled to have the booster. He was bummed he did not get to be here live for all of the festivities, but we delivered his presents and some homemade chicken soup. He was also disappointed someone he knew did not tell him he or she was infected, until after handing him a cup of coffee and being close by. Since he has been so diligent with his precautions, this less than altruistic attitude of an acquaintance was particularly “disappointing” to him. It is like someone breeched his trust.

Disappointing is the word that comes to mind for my wife and me. While I applaud those who have gotten vaccines and take the COVID seriously with the steps they take, I am disappointed that others are not so community minded. While I understand legitimate concerns about the pace of the vaccines roll out, I tend to find arguments about vaccines being an infringement of freedoms lacking in veracity. And, for those who are avoiding the vaccines because some talk show host or elected official made this political, I strongly disagree with that rationale.

I was watching “Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel” last night where their year-end show recaps the year’s stories. One reporter made the comment about the falderol over certain athletes who have lied about taking the vaccines, but noted the professional leagues tend to have very high vaccination rates – the WNBA has a 96% rate, while the NBA has a 92% rate. The reporter noted too much fuss is placed over the named players who have not, but we lose sight of the low vaccine rates in the New York City police force (she cited 32%) as an example, which should give us greater pause.

I share our vaccine stories with others and try to be encouraging. Yet, when people are cavalier about the responsibility that comes with freedom, it gives me pause. And, if my son does have COVID because of such, it adds fuel to my disappointment in those who do not take this seriously. If I offended you, then I am sorry, but that is the way my wife and I feel. Please get the vaccines and/ or booster shots. It helps you, your family, your friends and others you come in contact with.

16 thoughts on “A Monday morning after Christmas

  1. First of all, I hope your son will be having a mild journey through the infection. We talked about this matter a few times, lately. I am completely with you. Lately, I heard of this sportsman Frederick Sinistra, who denied the existence of the virus. After he was infected, he released himself from the hospital, treated himself at home, and died at last. What an example to get the vaccination!

    • Erika, thanks for your well wishes. The story you shared is a sad tale which applies to more than those who get notoriety for their stance. Here, there have been six talk show hosts who were defiant toward COVID and vaccines, who have all died.

      My daughter now has a cough and my throat is scratchy. So, we are staying hydrated and taking Tylenol. She will get tested tomorrow. Keith

  2. Sorry to hear of your son’s illness. As a parent of child who had Covid, I understand it comes with a whole new set of frustrations and concerns. This is not a mere cold or flu, as some would purport. Cavalier attitudes make me irate, too, Keith. A friend, who I have not seen recently, as she choses not to vaccinate, recently told me: “Oh well, it will all be over soon, you’ll see; and then everyone will understand that I was not so crazy.” I had no words. If the daily numbers and ongoing deaths is not enough to convince these folks that we are in the middle of a pandemic, then what is?

  3. My sincere hope is that you and your family will have a speedy & complete return to health. There is a Buddhist belief that I came across back in 2016, though I no longer recall where, which had these two lines written one below the other that I copied into one of my little books :
    ‘Protecting oneself one protects others’
    ‘Protecting others one protects oneself’
    It went on to say that ‘these two sentences supplement each other and should not be taken (or quoted) separately.’
    I have often thought of those two short sentences throughout the unfolding events of this 2020-2021 Covid-19 pandemic which will undoubtedly continue into 2022…partially because too many fail to do either! Thank-you!

    • Ellen, many thanks. Those paired sentences are right on target. We are doing fine thus far. My son is doing better and my wife and I seem to have a sore throat and occasional slight cough. Yet, some of this started before, so it may be the lingering good weather has prolonged the allergy season here. As we are a city of trees, we rank high in allergies. Thanks for your interest and concern. Keith

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.