A few oldies but goodies – three most frequented posts

As I reflect on my blogging which began in December, 2011, I tell folks that part of the reason I blog is to give me a place to write what I feel are the significant truths of our day. In a world where everyone seems to have their own source of tailored made and spoon fed news, we seem to lose sight of those truths.

I appreciate greatly those who have taken the time to drop by and read my words, enter a like every once in a while, and on occasion, offer a comment. When someone tells you the efforts you have made are worth a few minutes of their time, it is quite gratifying.

Like you, when I write a piece I have certain expectations of activity and resonance. Some, I have felt would be better frequented are not, while others tend to take off. And, there are a few that catch on later for some reason, where a person finds a lost episode and shares it with others. When I see that activity after months and years, I go back and re-read the post to remind myself what I said.

In the four years I have been writing, three posts have been the reason for about 25% of the visits my blog. The fourth most popular post is beneath 2% of the visits. If you are new to my blog in the past year, you may have not seen these three. I will provide a link below and offer my thoughts on why those three do far better than the others. I would love to hear your comments as well.

Six years alcohol free but still want to drink

I wrote this over two years and am still alcohol free. Many newcomers do not know that I am an alcoholic, but have been able to maintain my sobriety for now eight years. This post is by far my most frequented one, as each of us either have a similar challenge or know someone who has such a challenge. It offers advice I received from an unexpected source that I share with others. “I am not going to drink today.”

https://musingsofanoldfart.wordpress.com/2013/08/08/six-years-alcohol-free-but-still-want-to-drink/

Les Miserables and Social Injustice

My wife and I have always enjoyed the musical, but the music can overpower the true misery of the story. The movie starring Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe and Anne Hathaway allowed that misery and social injustice to come to the forefront. The singing was captured during the filming rather than recorded later and dubbed over. This made the songs resonate with the anguish felt in their voices.

https://musingsofanoldfart.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/les-miserables-and-social-injustice/

Tribute to a Great Boss

Each of us have had several bosses in our career and we know their imperfections. So, when we get a good one, it makes the days at work much more enjoyable and rewarding. I have had a few good ones, as well as some bad ones, but one stood out as a great boss. This post is a tribute to him upon his retirement and a wish for others to have this pleasure at some point in their work.

https://musingsofanoldfart.wordpress.com/2012/12/05/tribute-to-a-great-boss/

Please let me know what you think. For those blogs I follow, I would love for you to do something similar as I would enjoy reading or re-reading your work that resonated most with readers. And, thanks for your words of prose, poetry and song along with the wonderful pictures. They are greatly appreciated.

Best wishes to all over the holidays and have a wonderful 2016.

18 thoughts on “A few oldies but goodies – three most frequented posts

  1. Pingback: Three Favorites | hughcurtler

  2. I remember two of your three. I’ll have to go read the other one that I must not have seen, might be before I followed your blog? I think my top three would likely be of photo challenges. Those seem to get the most likes/comments. I’m not sure how you figure out the top three though. I’ll give it a look and see what I can find. anyway, happy blogoversary!! keep up the great work 🙂

  3. Merry Christmas, Keith, and I hope you enjoy the holiday season. I started blogging in December 2011 as well. This year one of my older posts got a lot of attention (it seems to come up high on search results): “Outdoor Concert Checklist.” Also a review of the book “The Magic of Tidying Up,” which surprised me because I wrote about it long after other bloggers did. I don’t think either of these two posts is representative of what I usually write! But in any case, it is nice to be read.

  4. Hi Keith, I’m at my daughter’s on the tablet. I’ll save this to read when I get home in a few days. I know addiction many people I know have fought those demons. I drank and drugged but I could leave it all alone with no issues. Only thing I had a problem with ia cigarettes and I guess my unhealthy relationship with food.

    • Thanks Kim. Fortunately, I was able to avoid the cigarettes since my Dad smoked. Best wishes with your visit to your daughter’s and safe travels on your return. Keith

Leave a Reply

