A solicited prayer for all

I follow a young woman’s blog she calls the Christian Tech-Nerd. Recently, she offered several biblical based prayers for various events or challenges and invited readers to submit theirs. Here is one I submitted, which is less biblical and more on treating others like we want to be treated.

“Thanks for sharing. My prayer is our leaders, both religious and non-religious, can act and speak as if they are among our better angels and not our worst demons. To me, it is poor stewardship when they act and speak like we tell our kids not to. 

My prayer is we can civilly disagree with one another and not hold grudges if we cannot find agreement. My prayer is we can be the best version of ourselves and treat people like we want to be treated. We are an imperfect lot and we all sin. So, let’s not forget that and do our best to learn from our mistakes.

I recognize this is not a biblical prayer, I just feel we have lost our way and we need to act better than we are. Thanks for asking.”

This prayer seems to resonate with several folks. My thrust is on walking the talk. Words are easy. Actions are hard. As someone who has worked with religious volunteers to help people in need, those outreach people are where that Golden Rule lives. Those are the people we should be following, not a minister or elected official who is using their power to act like a bully to denigrate others.

21 thoughts on “A solicited prayer for all

  1. Note to Readers: My thesis is when religions are inclusive, they are at their finest. When religions are exclusive, they are at their worst. Just because someone is a minister, does not mean they cannot be mean-spirited. There are many wonderful church leaders out there, but there are too many that use the bible as a weapon to divide us. And, some have even spout criminal BS.

    The same goes for elected officials. We cannot condone the few who threaten or bully people. I ask that the body which governs them to call them out and tell them to cease with such mean-spirited and even criminal behavior and words.

  2. Involvement with religion sadly gives some an inflated sense of entitlement which can be quite destructive. Walk the talk is indeed the mark to look for.

  3. Hello Keith. Nice prayer. Today on his podcast Sam Seder a progressive, took one of his viewers to task for saying the Christians are horrible and blaming all Christians for the evils of some fundamentalist religious people. He asked that instead of a vague Christian or vague religious label that people should use fundamental Christianity or fundamentalist religions. Or use the word extreme as in extreme Christianity or extremely religious. I can see the benefit of that. There are good and decent religious people of faith / belief. I myself have decent Christians that are allies who visit my blog and I wouldn’t want to lump them in with the crazies that promote hate, harm, and making a ten year old rape victim forced to birth the rapist baby and then say she will come to see the benefits as one extreme fundamentalist Christian did. Best wishes. Hugs

  4. As I understand Christ’s teachings on prayer, God will know your meaning Keith.
    This prayer is a genuine and reflection of the true teaching of religions with a code of ‘humanity’.
    Well said.
    Roger

    • Hello Roger. I have to think using reason that if there were a deity with the abilities of the Christian god, **with what I think that god values**, labels and associations wouldn’t mean much to them. They would know the intent of the person and every act they took. If that deity has that ability that the Christians say they it does then it would know if you meant good, if you just made a mistake, if you screwed up with a reason to do so, or if you mean harm. My point is what that is what I understood when as a kid when I was told god knew my heart, and I simply can not accept that the deity of good would punish good acting people just because they are different or have a different label from the majority. Or are a different sect or even a different religion. That is geopolitics and religious control issues. If a god is wanting good they will accept good where and when it happens and discard / punish the not-good no matter who does it even if it happens with in the “in group”. IMO. I am not religious as to a deity and I am only someone who wants the best world for everyone so I may be totally off base here. Best wishes. Hugs

  5. We should all endeavor to be better than we are. That’s cool.
    This is so wild to me, as I only just came across this woman’s blog in the last day or two. I don’t even remember how I got there, but it’s so funny you reference this post, which I saw!

    • Thanks Betsy. That is interesting that you had just discovered it. I think I saw her name on a comment and thought her moniker was cool. Keith

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.