Texas Republicans want to deny STD and HIV screenings under ACA

In an article in Politico by Alice Miranda Ollstein called Obamacare back in court as Texans challenge coverage for STDs and HIV care,” yet one more try to gut certain preceived, unsavory provisions will be headed toward the Supreme Court. A few paragraphs are below, with a link to the article at the end:

“This challenge, filed in March of 2020 by a group of Texas residents and employers and backed by former Trump officials, argues that the ACA’s preventive care mandates violate the Religious Freedom Restoration Act and that forcing people to pay for plans that cover STD screenings and HIV prevention drugs will ‘facilitate and encourage homosexual behavior, prostitution, sexual promiscuity, and intravenous drug use….’

‘Ending the requirement that preventive services be free to patients will have negative health and financial consequences for millions,’ warned Katherine Hempstead, senior policy adviser at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

The Biden administration is arguing that the case should be thrown out because the Texans do not have legal standing because they aren’t being harmed by their insurance covering preventive services — a line of argument that has been successful in past defenses of the Affordable Care Act.

They also argue that there’s a clear government interest in preventing the spread of HIV and STDs for the health of the population at large which justifies the policy.”

The Religious Freedom Restoration Act has been used like a hammer since it came about to legislate some version of morality that suits a strident set of religious folks. Since many teens are going to have sex whether their minister or parents tell them not to and often it will be unprotected sex, having preventive coverage against STDs and HIV is important. And, with prostitution being the oldest profession and drug use more rampant now that drug companies have hooked people on pain-killers which are more expensive than heroin, exposure exists even to the teen and adult children of the most pious of us.

I have used this example before, but a pretty devout friend noted church parents would be astounded at the level of unleashed promiscuity that goes on even at the most ardent of religious colleges. College students are going to have sex. And, my guess is they will like it and want more. Further, I do not think whether their plan covers STD or HIV prevention will be too much of a factor in that decision. If Rx is a factor, it will likely be around a Plan B pill or daily birth control.

If certain ministers and priests are so concerned with sexual promiscuity, then they may want to govern some of their fellow ministers and priests about their sexual misconduct. While I fully recognize that the significant majority of religious leaders do not do these things, predatory sexual behavior is not good form for a religious leader.

Let’s protect people with health care preventive options. Health care is a private matter and is no business of a minister or even the parents, once the child is legally an adult.

https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/obamacare-back-court-texans-challenge-110000749.html

15 thoughts on “Texas Republicans want to deny STD and HIV screenings under ACA

    • Larry, you would think as the state becomes more purple, they would be doing the opposite. It is almost like they are clawing to keep from sinking further in the pit, by passing as many regressive policies as possible. For example, they could help so many by expanding Medicaid under the ACA, instead they are screwing people for political gain with their base. Keith

      • I’m in Texas, and I think you are right, Keith. This state is shifting and the powers that be are doing their best to keep that power come hell or high water. I think of all the money being wasted on all of these lawsuits the state is bringing; it makes me both angry and sad. Texans deserve better. Hopefully, we’ll get out and vote in November.

      • Thanks. I agree. A lot of money and goodwill (the economic kind) is being spent on chasing political gains not helping people. What is interesting to me is the downplaying of something they did well, as it runs counter to message. Texas is the largest wind energy producer in the country and 1/5 of its electricity comes from renewable energy, mostly wind. A reason is the powers that be set up infrastructure to harness the electricity and use it in large population areas. That took an effort, but it seems to be unknown as it runs counter to fossil-fuel marketing for an oil/ natural gas state.

      • I believe we are more willing to talk about them.
        Also there appears to be one or two generations who have grown up to treat sex as a social interaction or pass time. Which I am guessing is OK as long as there is no abuse and cohesion involved.
        Some would have us return to eras when it was the right of men over women and no other options (aside from hypocritical ones in private, of course). That would be bad.

      • Roger, the men over women issue is correlated with the evangelical movement. It reminds me of a minister counseling a friend of mine if she was a better wife her husband would not beat her. She left that church.

        As for the more casual hook ups, that seems to be a trend with the friends with benefit concept. How pervasive it is I do not know. Keith

  1. Note to Readers: As a retired benefits consultant, it sure would be nice if Republicans and Democrats could work together to shore up the Affordable Care Act and fully implement it in remaining states. Rather than pick at it like this and other lawsuits have done, let’s make it work even better. Ironically, Republican defiance toward the ACA is a little comical in that the ACA has elements from Romneycare, which not only was a Republican idea, but the predecessor to the Freedom Caucus advocated in writing for the entire country. It would be nice if they just set aside the political zero-sum game and get it done. Just to emphasize a point, the repeal and replace law that almost passed under Trump was a horrendous piece of legislation crafted in a haphazard way. Before he died John McCain did the country a service and said “thumbs down” to this bill.

    • Janis, sarcasm duly noted. The hypocrisy abounds. It is not unlike the Congressman voting against the marriage equality bill then attending his son’s gay wedding the next day which happened last week. Keith

  2. Great post Keith. There is so much here and in the comments I would love to add my thoughts on. I will try to keep my rambling as tight as possible so as to not to abuse the privilege of commenting.

    On religious schools / kids having sex, I took my senior year at a church boarding school. The dorms were separated, and it was strict boy / girl separation and when together they were not allowed to even hold hands. Yet in the dorms I know the boys were having sex with each other and in the tunnels between the dorms you could find used condoms all the time. Where these kids of highly religious families were getting condoms in a school out in the country away from any store I don’t know. They must have some grand older brothers. BTW the most rebel of all the kids were the sons of Pastors. They were the go-to for drugs and other not allowed items.

    On the ACA and the benefits, I have never understood the idea of forced morality. It never works. Ted Haggard is in the news again for having gay sex with drug use and now preying on minors maybe because he has been denied normal adult same sex attractions. He has been forced to start his own church with a youth center in his basement. I wonder what could go wrong? But has any time an authority tried to force morality on a minority work? It drives the denied acts underground and into hiding but it doesn’t stop the immorality that the authorities want to ban.

    The religious freedom act seems to mean these people get the freedom to force others to follow their church doctrines. What about my religious freedom? What if my religion has different moral commandments? The Jewish faith allows abortion as does the Satanic temple.

    When I was in my early 20s stationed in West Berlin my being sort of openly gay (1980s) which my command had no problem with, some god bible thumpers took it on themselves to show me their god and convert me from my sin. There were four of five of them. They were going to save me. For weeks they harassed me at every meal I took in the mess hall. They would wait till I sat down with my friends then pull up chairs and pray at me and preach at me, leave notes of bible verses on my room door in the barracks and so much more. I did not know what to do. Lucky for me I had good friends. We got together one night and created a religion, the House of Athena. Then the next day when the god squad tried to accost me, I told them I would make a deal, I would let them preach their god to me if they would let me and my friends introduce them to our faith, we got to go first. They agreed thinking they won. We met in my dorm room where they brought their bibles, and my friends informed them that our religion was a nudist one and to continue they would have to take off their clothing and that sexual activity was a form of our worship. According to the deal we got to share our religion first. BTW most of my friends involved were straight but the god jerks did not know that. Apparently spreading the word of their god was not so important after that. They complained to the command who backed me / my friends entirely. Religious freedom. That was before the Christian national movement moved into the military.

    Sorry this got long. But this subject is important to me. Hugs

    • Thanks Scottie for your insight and stories. As for the condoms on the rural religious campus, my guess is there were some enterprising black marketeers who made a profit on resale. As for the pastors’ children, there many a movie, song and novel about their promiscuity. Keith

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.